DaemonForums  

Go Back   DaemonForums > FreeBSD > FreeBSD Ports and Packages

FreeBSD Ports and Packages Installation and upgrading of ports and packages on FreeBSD.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1   (View Single Post)  
Old 10th May 2008
mfaridi's Avatar
mfaridi mfaridi is offline
Spam Deminer
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Afghanistan
Posts: 282
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default connect to FreeBSD from Windows with VNC

I install Vncviewer on my FreeBSD , and can connect from FreeBSD to Windows

but I can not connect to FreeBSD from Windows

after I type user name and password in vncviewer nothing happen and I can not connect to FreeBSD BOX

what is problem ??
Reply With Quote
  #2   (View Single Post)  
Old 10th May 2008
cajunman4life cajunman4life is offline
Real Name: Aaron Graves
Package Pilot
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Coolidge, Arizona
Posts: 203
Thanked 16 Times in 14 Posts
Default

There is probably no VNC server running on your FreeBSD box. You have the viewer, but not the server. I would look at ports/net/x11vnc for your FreeBSD box.
__________________
I just saved a bunch of money on my car insurance by fleeing the scene of the accident!
Reply With Quote
  #3   (View Single Post)  
Old 10th May 2008
mfaridi's Avatar
mfaridi mfaridi is offline
Spam Deminer
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Afghanistan
Posts: 282
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cajunman4life View Post
There is probably no VNC server running on your FreeBSD box. You have the viewer, but not the server. I would look at ports/net/x11vnc for your FreeBSD box.

but I install VNC with Server and viewer.
Reply With Quote
  #4   (View Single Post)  
Old 10th May 2008
Carpetsmoker's Avatar
Carpetsmoker Carpetsmoker is offline
Real Name: Martin
Old man from scene 24
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Eindhoven, Netherlands
Posts: 2,080
Thanked 198 Times in 156 Posts
Default

And did you start it...? Did you configure it...?
__________________
UNIX was not designed to stop you from doing stupid things, because that would also stop you from doing clever things.
Reply With Quote
  #5   (View Single Post)  
Old 10th May 2008
mfaridi's Avatar
mfaridi mfaridi is offline
Spam Deminer
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Afghanistan
Posts: 282
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Carpetsmoker View Post
And did you start it...? Did you configure it...?
how I configure it or start it
I think before when I can connect from BSD box to Windows Box , VNC is starting.
Reply With Quote
  #6   (View Single Post)  
Old 10th May 2008
TerryP's Avatar
TerryP TerryP is offline
Arp Constable
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USofA
Posts: 1,547
Thanked 112 Times in 104 Posts
Default

You have to start the vncserver before you can connect, otherwise there is nothing to connect to !

Without configuring some thing to handle such issues (probably inetd on Linux/BSD/Unix systems), there is no way for any computer to know what service you want started on receiving a request at port XYZ from host ZYX -- it's common sense. So without doing some thing like that you'll need to have the service running before connecting.


I don't see any rc scripts in the ports pkg-plist files so you probably will need to create them in /usr/local/etc/rc.d or add an entry to /etc/rc.local if you want to start the service (and leave it running) when ever the machine starts. rc.local is a shell script, the rc.d system is a system of shell scripts -> read the rc man page for details.


I used VNC on a headless machine ~two years ago and it worked fine. If you don't want to use TWM on login, you probably want to edit (or create) the ~/.vnc/xstartup shell script for the user on the VNC Server machine to handle launching the environment you want.


I used to use KDE via VNC since at the time I required my only monitor for gaming, meaning it was attached to a Windows machine ;-).


Personally I find SSH better then VNC or running an X Server whether the client is a Microsoft or Unix based system but to each their own. VNC + TWM however does work better over the network then say, VNC + Windows NT or VNC+KDE which are heavier on performance then TWM.
__________________
My Journal

Thou shalt check the array bounds of all strings (indeed, all arrays), for surely where thou typest ``foo'' someone someday shall type ``supercalifragilisticexpialidocious''.
Reply With Quote
  #7   (View Single Post)  
Old 11th May 2008
mfaridi's Avatar
mfaridi mfaridi is offline
Spam Deminer
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Afghanistan
Posts: 282
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TerryP View Post
You have to start the vncserver before you can connect, otherwise there is nothing to connect to !

Without configuring some thing to handle such issues (probably inetd on Linux/BSD/Unix systems), there is no way for any computer to know what service you want started on receiving a request at port XYZ from host ZYX -- it's common sense. So without doing some thing like that you'll need to have the service running before connecting.


I don't see any rc scripts in the ports pkg-plist files so you probably will need to create them in /usr/local/etc/rc.d or add an entry to /etc/rc.local if you want to start the service (and leave it running) when ever the machine starts. rc.local is a shell script, the rc.d system is a system of shell scripts -> read the rc man page for details.


I used VNC on a headless machine ~two years ago and it worked fine. If you don't want to use TWM on login, you probably want to edit (or create) the ~/.vnc/xstartup shell script for the user on the VNC Server machine to handle launching the environment you want.


I used to use KDE via VNC since at the time I required my only monitor for gaming, meaning it was attached to a Windows machine ;-).


Personally I find SSH better then VNC or running an X Server whether the client is a Microsoft or Unix based system but to each their own. VNC + TWM however does work better over the network then say, VNC + Windows NT or VNC+KDE which are heavier on performance then TWM.
How I start this service there is no way in
Code:
 /usr/local/etc/rc.d/
???
Reply With Quote
  #8   (View Single Post)  
Old 11th May 2008
Carpetsmoker's Avatar
Carpetsmoker Carpetsmoker is offline
Real Name: Martin
Old man from scene 24
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Eindhoven, Netherlands
Posts: 2,080
Thanked 198 Times in 156 Posts
Default

vncserver

See the vncserver manpage, the vncconfig command also seems useful...
__________________
UNIX was not designed to stop you from doing stupid things, because that would also stop you from doing clever things.
Reply With Quote
  #9   (View Single Post)  
Old 12th May 2008
hamba hamba is offline
Fdisk Soldier
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 71
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
Default

I have a small howto on my website on connecting trough vnc+ssh

Have a look it might help you
http://www.violetlan.net/bsd/27/Tigh...Freebsdoverssh

Have fun
Reinhold
Reply With Quote
Old 12th May 2008
mfaridi's Avatar
mfaridi mfaridi is offline
Spam Deminer
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Afghanistan
Posts: 282
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hamba View Post
I have a small howto on my website on connecting trough vnc+ssh

Have a look it might help you
http://www.violetlan.net/bsd/27/Tigh...Freebsdoverssh

Have fun
Reinhold
thanks ,
your guide help many and I can connect to FreeBSD box from Windows , but I have new problem right now
I use XFCE4 for desktop but when I connect with vncviewer , I see another Desktop like Xterm , but it is not Gnome , KDE and Fluxbox.
Reply With Quote
Old 12th May 2008
stukov's Avatar
stukov stukov is offline
Real Name: Jean-Michel Philippon-Nadeau
Package Pilot
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Sherbrooke, Qc, Canada
Posts: 167
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

You can edit your startup script to invoke any window manager you like. It usually resides in ~/.vnc/xstartup.
__________________
"Any intelligent fool can make things bigger, more complex, and more violent. It takes a touch of genius -- and a lot of courage -- to move in the opposite direction."
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mounting FreeBSD Data on Windows tuck Other OS 11 13th February 2009 10:19 AM
FreeBSD server, Windows clients, daily backups Weaseal FreeBSD General 4 25th December 2008 05:50 PM
Resume: FreeBSD to Windows bsdsys_x86 FreeBSD General 23 19th November 2008 02:11 AM
I can't make FreeBSD floppy/boot image disks under Windows with fdimage Turquoise88 FreeBSD Installation and Upgrading 4 12th November 2008 08:39 PM
rsync freebsd server/windows client Weaseal FreeBSD General 0 27th August 2008 12:29 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content copyright © 2007-2010, the authors
Daemon image copyright ©1988, Marshall Kirk McKusick