DaemonForums  

Go Back   DaemonForums > NetBSD > NetBSD General

NetBSD General Other questions regarding NetBSD which do not fit in any of the categories below.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1   (View Single Post)  
Old 1st August 2009
ahlsner ahlsner is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: France
Posts: 27
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Problem Network (3.1, 4, 5)

Hello,

I've a bigproblem with the network (Realtek8139) : just after installation, Utility, Configure network, the acces to the Internet (and in the router) is OK.
I've done manys ping on some websites successufully. An "ifconfig rtk0" "displays the informations of the 8139 with inet adress as 192.168.2.x, mask 0XFFFFFF00.
At the next boot, the network does not run, and ifconfig rtk0, the inet adrss is missing.
In this las context, dmesg|less displays some informations, such IRQ11 (the same in the BIOS).
I've created :

/etc/mygate who contains 192.168.2.1

In /etc//rc.conf, I've writed a line :

auto_ifconfig=YES

Any host are not recognized, such the gateway (here the router Siemens SE 505).
Please, if you have ideas or shared same experiences, help me.
Thanks,


ahlsner
Reply With Quote
  #2   (View Single Post)  
Old 2nd August 2009
IdOp's Avatar
IdOp IdOp is offline
Too dumb for a smartphone
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: twisting on the daemon's fork(2)
Posts: 552
Thanked 14 Times in 13 Posts
Default

From your post, it sounds like maybe the network interface is not being configured automatically when you boot. Since you didn't mention it, the first suggestion is to create a file /etc/ifconfig.rtk0. The bootup scripts should find this and provide the contained lines as parameters to the ifconfig command. E.g., the file might contain something like:

Code:
inet 198.168.2.x netmask 255.255.255.0 media autoselect
For more details, have a look at the man page ifconfig.if(5)

Hope that helps.
Reply With Quote
  #3   (View Single Post)  
Old 2nd August 2009
ahlsner ahlsner is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: France
Posts: 27
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

IdOp,

Thnanks for your answer.
I've a ifconfig_rtk0 :

inet 192.168.2.?

but no mask and autoselect is somewhere (dmesg).
I try

ahlsner
Reply With Quote
  #4   (View Single Post)  
Old 2nd August 2009
IdOp's Avatar
IdOp IdOp is offline
Too dumb for a smartphone
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: twisting on the daemon's fork(2)
Posts: 552
Thanked 14 Times in 13 Posts
Default

Hi ahlsner, a couple of small notes:

1) There's probably no need to set auto_ifconfig=YES in /etc/rc.conf (re: your first post), because the default value is set to YES already in /etc/defaults/rc.conf. See also the man page for rc.conf(5).

2) If you put the ifconfig command line into a file, the file's name is /etc/ifconfig.rtk0, with a dot "." not an underscore "_" . You can also put it into an environment variable ifconfig_rtk0 which has an underscore (as in your second post, though it wasn't clear if you meant a file or a varaible). (I've only ever done it with the file myself.)

Once you've got part 2 set up right, then on the next reboot the interface should be configured how you like it, including the correct IP address.

Let us know if it works or not.
Reply With Quote
  #5   (View Single Post)  
Old 3rd August 2009
ahlsner ahlsner is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: France
Posts: 27
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hello,

Thanks.
There is a progress!
In ifconfig.rtk0, I've writred a line as jyou proposed :

inet 192.168.2.111

and other commands in your last post.
I've also modified rc.conf and édiesed" the line containig "DHCP"(problem in qhutdown".
The result of your suggestion is positive :
-8139 has an inet adress 192.168.2.111
-I can access to the routeur (gateway).
I will rereead your last post.
Good afternoon,

ahlsner
Reply With Quote
  #6   (View Single Post)  
Old 3rd August 2009
ahlsner ahlsner is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: France
Posts: 27
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I've forgot :
I must configure resolve.conf (or host) by writing DNS 192.168.2.1, the gateway.
So, I willa accass to Internet.
What do your think?
Thanks,

ahlsner
ahlsner
Reply With Quote
  #7   (View Single Post)  
Old 3rd August 2009
IdOp's Avatar
IdOp IdOp is offline
Too dumb for a smartphone
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: twisting on the daemon's fork(2)
Posts: 552
Thanked 14 Times in 13 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ahlsner View Post
I've forgot :
I must configure resolve.conf (or host) by writing DNS 192.168.2.1, the gateway.
So, I willa accass to Internet.
What do your think?
Glad to hear it's working better.

Yes you will need to put at least one, and up to three, nameserver IPs into /etc/resolv.conf. For other useful parameters that can be put in this file, see resolv.conf(5). Also take note of the "hosts:" line in /etc/nsswitch.conf, which determines whether DNS is consulted before or after looking at /etc/hosts.

As for gateways, you'll have to make sure the routing is set up right on all relevant machines. See route(5).
Reply With Quote
  #8   (View Single Post)  
Old 3rd August 2009
ahlsner ahlsner is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: France
Posts: 27
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks,
I will try your proposition.
Après, I wish configure 8139 with DHCP, not a fix adress.
When the network will be OK, I will submit a big problem : Install NetBSD when DesktopBSD(FreeBSD) or OpenBSD is installed.

For this las problem, I don't know if someone has experienced this critical situation.
I'm french, and the English is problem for me.
Goodbye,

ahlsner
Reply With Quote
  #9   (View Single Post)  
Old 3rd August 2009
ahlsner ahlsner is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: France
Posts: 27
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

My network problem is quasi resolved.
After creating resolv.conf and put in :

nameserver 192.168.2.1

all ping on sites are OK.
Now, I wish that the router allows dynamic adresses via DHCP to RTL 8139.
After this, the next "major big problem" is about installing NetBSD when FreeBSD OR OpenBSD is installed.
I haven't tried the case when FreeBSD AND Openbsd are installed.
Good bye,

ahlsner
Reply With Quote
Old 3rd August 2009
IdOp's Avatar
IdOp IdOp is offline
Too dumb for a smartphone
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: twisting on the daemon's fork(2)
Posts: 552
Thanked 14 Times in 13 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ahlsner View Post
Now, I wish that the router allows dynamic adresses via DHCP to RTL 8139.
Though I've never used DHCP, I think relevant things to look at are the "dhclient" variable in /etc/rc.conf, and the man pages dhclient(8) and dhclient.conf(5).

Bon chance.
Reply With Quote
Old 4th August 2009
ahlsner ahlsner is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: France
Posts: 27
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hello IdOp,

Thanks for suugestion about dhclient.

Bon chance : this is a very good attention.
For you also, good luck (= bonne chance)

Humoristic : I had not network with NetBSD!!!That must be done, "less" once!
goodbye,

ahlsner
Reply With Quote
Old 6th August 2009
Tom Tom is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Poland
Posts: 22
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Maybe I misunderstood, but.... You want to configure your connection using dhcp?

For a long time I had my NetBSD connected to internet through router using dhcp and all what i have needed was to add one line to /etc/rc.conf

Code:
dhclient=YES
Nothing less nor more.

Best Regards
Tom
Reply With Quote
Old 6th August 2009
ahlsner ahlsner is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: France
Posts: 27
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hello Tom,

Thanks.
I will try this.What do I do for this line in /etc/ifconfig.rtk0

inet 192.168.2.111.
Cordialy,

ahlsner
Reply With Quote
Old 6th August 2009
ahlsner ahlsner is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: France
Posts: 27
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi,

I-ve done, Tom, and "diesed" "auto_ifconfig=YES" in rc.conf, and all lines in ifconfig.rtk0.
Now, I known two way for configure NIC.
Thanks you IdOp and Tom.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Odd network performance problem dewarrn1 FreeBSD General 6 27th January 2009 12:13 AM
Wireless Network Problem fuma218 NetBSD General 8 8th January 2009 12:00 AM
Strange network problem mururoa FreeBSD General 15 5th November 2008 08:25 AM
Weird network problem rex FreeBSD General 5 16th September 2008 02:05 AM
USB wireless network adapter, ndis problem ronaldmcdonald9 FreeBSD General 5 9th July 2008 07:50 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content copyright © 2007-2010, the authors
Daemon image copyright ©1988, Marshall Kirk McKusick