DaemonForums  

Go Back   DaemonForums > FreeBSD > FreeBSD General

FreeBSD General Other questions regarding FreeBSD which do not fit in any of the categories below.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1   (View Single Post)  
Old 22nd November 2009
vigol's Avatar
vigol vigol is offline
Real Name: mehrshad moslehi
vigol
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: tehran
Posts: 30
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Working dial-up connection - No Client Connection

Hi
One guy had a great time to crack my poor system, by removing/Changing some of configurations files & permissions.
All things recovered & system's goning up, with the exception of :

* I could connect to Internet with a dial-up connection with KPPP (I used to it!).
* All Modem Status Lights are fine (OH, CS, TR, CD).
1- But No Client (All Browsers, Messengers, ...) can access/make connection to Internet, at all. -- Exactly same as when it's disconnected.
2- No sign in RD(receive) & SD(send) status light.
* OS: FreeBSD 7.0-Release-i386 (Installed from Default ISO).

frankly, There's no idea that what's the problem & where's the start point.

thanks for your reply, in advanced!
Bye
__________________
mehrshad moslehi ---- vigol ---- vigolyas
Reply With Quote
  #2   (View Single Post)  
Old 22nd November 2009
J65nko J65nko is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Budel - the Netherlands
Posts: 3,256
Thanked 182 Times in 149 Posts
Default

Please post the output of ifconfig and netstat -rn -f inet

BTW posting your email address in your signature is a fantastic way to receive spam
__________________
You don't need to be a genius to debug a pf.conf firewall ruleset, you just need the guts to run tcpdump
Reply With Quote
  #3   (View Single Post)  
Old 22nd November 2009
vigol's Avatar
vigol vigol is offline
Real Name: mehrshad moslehi
vigol
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: tehran
Posts: 30
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks for your Fast/Thundering Reply (less than 10 min after posting)
1- i'll check it, i'll report it -- i'm in a Grey Win 7 -RC just now.
2- that's true -- SPAM-- as a matter or fact it's just for making a contrast between me and another person with the same name in my region! - This email became a spam target for a long time!
__________________
mehrshad moslehi ---- vigol ---- vigolyas
Reply With Quote
  #4   (View Single Post)  
Old 22nd November 2009
vigol's Avatar
vigol vigol is offline
Real Name: mehrshad moslehi
vigol
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: tehran
Posts: 30
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Code:
# ifconfig
re0: flags=8802<BROADCAST,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 1500
        options=9b<RXCSUM,TXCSUM,VLAN_MTU,VLAN_HWTAGGING,VLAN_HWCSUM>
        ether 00:18:f3:d4:17:12
        media: Ethernet autoselect (10baseT/UTP <half-duplex>)
        status: no carrier
plip0: flags=108810<POINTOPOINT,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST,NEEDSGIANT> metric 0 mtu 1500
lo0: flags=8049<UP,LOOPBACK,RUNNING,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 16384
        inet6 fe80::1%lo0 prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x3 
        inet6 ::1 prefixlen 128 
        inet 127.0.0.1 netmask 0xff000000 
ppp0: flags=108010<POINTOPOINT,MULTICAST,NEEDSGIANT> metric 0 mtu 1500

------------------------------
# netstat -rn -f inet
Routing tables

Internet:
Destination        Gateway            Flags    Refs      Use  Netif Expire
127.0.0.1          127.0.0.1          UH          0     1478    lo0
---------------------------

TNX
__________________
mehrshad moslehi ---- vigol ---- vigolyas

Last edited by J65nko; 27th November 2009 at 03:23 AM. Reason: Code tags added
Reply With Quote
  #5   (View Single Post)  
Old 22nd November 2009
J65nko J65nko is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Budel - the Netherlands
Posts: 3,256
Thanked 182 Times in 149 Posts
Default

Your ppp0 interface does not have an IP address
Code:
ppp0: flags=108010<POINTOPOINT,MULTICAST,NEEDSGIANT> metric 0 mtu 1500
Your ppp0 interface does not have an IP address and with only having a loopback lo0 interface with 127.0.0.1 there is no way you can connect to any network.

So you would have to review your PPP settings. I am afraid I cannot offer much assistance. Since more then 6 years I have ADSL and haven't touched a real modem since that time.

A way out of your trouble could be to make a backup of your data and configuration files, reinstall and secure your system so you don't get cracked again
__________________
You don't need to be a genius to debug a pf.conf firewall ruleset, you just need the guts to run tcpdump

Last edited by J65nko; 22nd November 2009 at 11:10 PM. Reason: typo
Reply With Quote
  #6   (View Single Post)  
Old 22nd November 2009
vigol's Avatar
vigol vigol is offline
Real Name: mehrshad moslehi
vigol
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: tehran
Posts: 30
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks
Your advice became a great clue, and finally I established a working connection by making a Network(PAP) connection in Sysinstal Utility. it's work fine.

Thanks a lot
__________________
mehrshad moslehi ---- vigol ---- vigolyas
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
client, configuration, connection, dialup, firefox

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Connection refused by tcp_wrappers sniper007 FreeBSD General 1 30th August 2009 02:31 PM
test port connection carpman FreeBSD Security 5 9th February 2009 11:12 AM
Racoon: restarting a particular VPN connection bram85 General software and network 0 21st January 2009 12:33 PM
dual ISP connection problems tpprodigy OpenBSD General 1 25th May 2008 11:34 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content copyright © 2007-2010, the authors
Daemon image copyright ©1988, Marshall Kirk McKusick