DaemonForums  

Go Back   DaemonForums > OpenBSD > OpenBSD General

OpenBSD General Other questions regarding OpenBSD which do not fit in any of the categories below.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1   (View Single Post)  
Old 17th May 2008
ichigo ichigo is offline
New User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Unhappy ifconfig problem

Hi! I need some help regarding my wifi card in my Openbsd 4.3
it seems my wifi pccard can't scan my AP device

root> ifconfig ath0 up
root> ifconfig -M ath0
ath0: flags=8822<UP,BROADCAST,NOTRAILERS,SIMPLEX,MULTICA S> mtv 1500
lladdr 42:5f:42:5f:42:5f
groups : wlan
media : IEEE802.11 autoselect (OFDM6)
status : no network
ieee80211 : nwid ""
none
inet6 fe80::405f:42ff:fe5f:425f:ath0 preixlen 64 scopeid 0x3

and when I issue a command

root> ifconfig ath0 up mode 11b chan 11 nwid myap nkey mysecretkey
root> dhclient ath0

it displays some error : ath0: device timeout
I already read the man page of ath but unfortunately
I dont have any idea what it tells. maybe some hardware issues.
does anyone here have an idea what should I do to conect my openbsd to my AP... thank's

Just a newbie eager to learn more...

Last edited by ichigo; 19th May 2008 at 10:45 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2   (View Single Post)  
Old 18th May 2008
ai-danno's Avatar
ai-danno ai-danno is offline
Spam Deminer
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Boca Raton, Florida
Posts: 284
Thanked 35 Times in 31 Posts
Default

Some common sense things that you have likely checked, but just to be sure:

Are you having your AP broadcast it's ssid?

Another thing could be that you are not correctly specifying your (e)ssid when running ifconfig. So if you have configured your AP to not broadcast it's (e)ssid and you aren't correctly specifying it when trying to connect, it could produce this same error.

Also, be sure you are on the right channel, etc.

I don't think that running dhclient is neccesary until you can see the broadcasted ssid in your -M ifconfig scan. In fact, I'd stick with a straight static IP assignment for now... dhclient is something to configure AFTER your wireless link can be easily established. One thing at a time...
__________________
Network Firefighter
Reply With Quote
  #3   (View Single Post)  
Old 19th May 2008
ichigo ichigo is offline
New User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Red face

thank's for the reply ai-danno, but my AP is broadcasting its ssid.. I checked with my friends laptop and I think I checked all the options that I should filled to connect to my AP. It worked on my previous 4.1 obsd before. with just
ifconfig ath0 up
ifconfig -M ath0
shows my AP,maybe I should try to buy new card

Thank's again.

Last edited by ichigo; 19th May 2008 at 01:35 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4   (View Single Post)  
Old 20th May 2008
ai-danno's Avatar
ai-danno ai-danno is offline
Spam Deminer
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Boca Raton, Florida
Posts: 284
Thanked 35 Times in 31 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ichigo View Post
thank's for the reply ai-danno, but my AP is broadcasting its ssid.. I checked with my friends laptop and I think I checked all the options that I should filled to connect to my AP. It worked on my previous 4.1 obsd before. with just
ifconfig ath0 up
ifconfig -M ath0
shows my AP,maybe I should try to buy new card

Thank's again.
Since you've shown it can work in 4.1, it is likely the case it will work in 4.3 as well... so I personally wouldn't recommend purchasing another card. In fact, you may run into similar problems with the new card. The whole thing about growing as an OBSD user/admin is that you take problems like this and "eat them for breakfast." So if you don't mind, let's troubleshoot a bit more, shall we?

I wonder if there are some media options that you need to set that were not previously needed to be specified for your card in 4.1. "ifconfig -m ath0" (the lowercase "m") will show the available media options for your card... perhaps you have to set or disable one or more of these options in order for the scan to properly work, and see your AP...

... but if you're happy with getting another card, I will bug you on this no further. Good luck.
__________________
Network Firefighter
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Boot problem. Geometry problem? gulanito FreeBSD Installation and Upgrading 0 3rd July 2009 03:03 AM
ifconfig: SIOCAIFADDR: File exists zomo OpenBSD General 7 23rd December 2008 10:20 PM
need some basic help on ifconfig daemon-dd FreeBSD General 4 29th July 2008 03:21 PM
FreeBSD's Ifconfig for WEP tz24 FreeBSD General 15 13th June 2008 02:17 AM
hard lock on ifconfig wi0 up reuteler OpenBSD General 11 25th May 2008 06:22 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content copyright © 2007-2010, the authors
Daemon image copyright ©1988, Marshall Kirk McKusick