DaemonForums  

Go Back   DaemonForums > FreeBSD > FreeBSD General

FreeBSD General Other questions regarding FreeBSD which do not fit in any of the categories below.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1   (View Single Post)  
Old 29th November 2009
AncientDragonfly's Avatar
AncientDragonfly AncientDragonfly is offline
not quite new user
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 25
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default 8.0 Release freezing - softdep_deallocate_dependancies unrecovered I/O error

New install, mostly new hardware, system is freezing.

It seems random, but I know nothing with computers is really random. I had no clues as to what was happening, until I was logged in with ssh from another computer when it froze. I had done "ls -la," then "man find" (to hunt for core dump files) when it hung over ssh, then I found this on the screen of the problematic computer and managed to get a photo:



I don't know what came before that because I couldn't scroll up. It said it would reboot in 15 seconds, but it didn't. Here is dmesg for the next reboot:

Code:
dmesg
Copyright (c) 1992-2009 The FreeBSD Project.
Copyright (c) 1979, 1980, 1983, 1986, 1988, 1989, 1991, 1992, 1993, 1994
        The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved.
FreeBSD is a registered trademark of The FreeBSD Foundation.
FreeBSD 8.0-RELEASE #0: Sat Nov 21 15:02:08 UTC 2009
    root@mason.cse.buffalo.edu:/usr/obj/usr/src/sys/GENERIC
Timecounter "i8254" frequency 1193182 Hz quality 0
CPU: AMD Athlon(tm) II X2 250 Processor (3000.02-MHz K8-class CPU)
  Origin = "AuthenticAMD"  Id = 0x100f62  Stepping = 2
  Features=0x178bfbff<FPU,VME,DE,PSE,TSC,MSR,PAE,MCE,CX8,APIC,SEP,MTRR,PGE,MCA,CMOV,PAT,PSE36,CLFLUSH,MMX,FXSR,SSE,SSE2,HTT>
  Features2=0x802009<SSE3,MON,CX16,POPCNT>
  AMD Features=0xee500800<SYSCALL,NX,MMX+,FFXSR,Page1GB,RDTSCP,LM,3DNow!+,3DNow!>
  AMD Features2=0x37ff<LAHF,CMP,SVM,ExtAPIC,CR8,ABM,SSE4A,MAS,Prefetch,OSVW,IBS,SKINIT,WDT>
  TSC: P-state invariant
real memory  = 2147483648 (2048 MB)
avail memory = 1926426624 (1837 MB)
ACPI APIC Table: <090809 APIC1020>
FreeBSD/SMP: Multiprocessor System Detected: 2 CPUs
FreeBSD/SMP: 1 package(s) x 2 core(s)
 cpu0 (BSP): APIC ID:  0
 cpu1 (AP): APIC ID:  1
ioapic0 <Version 1.1> irqs 0-23 on motherboard
kbd1 at kbdmux0
acpi0: <090809 RSDT1020> on motherboard
acpi0: [ITHREAD]
acpi0: Power Button (fixed)
acpi0: reservation of fee00000, 1000 (3) failed
acpi0: reservation of 100000, 7ff00000 (3) failed
acpi0: reservation of 0, a0000 (3) failed
Timecounter "ACPI-fast" frequency 3579545 Hz quality 1000
acpi_timer0: <24-bit timer at 3.579545MHz> port 0x508-0x50b on acpi0
acpi_hpet0: <High Precision Event Timer> iomem 0xfed00000-0xfed003ff on acpi0
Timecounter "HPET" frequency 25000000 Hz quality 900
pcib0: <ACPI Host-PCI bridge> port 0xcf8-0xcff on acpi0
pci0: <ACPI PCI bus> on pcib0
pci0: <memory, RAM> at device 0.0 (no driver attached)
isab0: <PCI-ISA bridge> port 0x900-0x9ff at device 1.0 on pci0
isa0: <ISA bus> on isab0
pci0: <serial bus, SMBus> at device 1.1 (no driver attached)
pci0: <memory, RAM> at device 1.2 (no driver attached)
pci0: <processor> at device 1.3 (no driver attached)
pci0: <memory, RAM> at device 1.4 (no driver attached)
ohci0: <OHCI (generic) USB controller> mem 0xfcf7e000-0xfcf7efff irq 22 at device 2.0 on pci0
ohci0: [ITHREAD]
usbus0: <OHCI (generic) USB controller> on ohci0
ehci0: <EHCI (generic) USB 2.0 controller> mem 0xfcf7fc00-0xfcf7fcff irq 23 at device 2.1 on pci0
ehci0: [ITHREAD]
usbus1: EHCI version 1.0
usbus1: <EHCI (generic) USB 2.0 controller> on ehci0
ohci1: <OHCI (generic) USB controller> mem 0xfcf7d000-0xfcf7dfff irq 20 at device 4.0 on pci0
ohci1: [ITHREAD]
usbus2: <OHCI (generic) USB controller> on ohci1
ehci1: <EHCI (generic) USB 2.0 controller> mem 0xfcf7f800-0xfcf7f8ff irq 21 at device 4.1 on pci0
ehci1: [ITHREAD]
usbus3: EHCI version 1.0
usbus3: <EHCI (generic) USB 2.0 controller> on ehci1
atapci0: <nVidia nForce MCP77 UDMA133 controller> port 0x1f0-0x1f7,0x3f6,0x170-0x177,0x376,0xffa0-0xffaf at device 6.0 on pci0
ata0: <ATA channel 0> on atapci0
ata0: [ITHREAD]
ata1: <ATA channel 1> on atapci0
ata1: [ITHREAD]
pci0: <multimedia, HDA> at device 7.0 (no driver attached)
pcib1: <ACPI PCI-PCI bridge> at device 8.0 on pci0
pci1: <ACPI PCI bus> on pcib1
atapci1: <nVidia AHCI controller> port 0xd480-0xd487,0xd400-0xd403,0xd080-0xd087,0xd000-0xd003,0xcc00-0xcc0f mem 0xfcf76000-0xfcf77fff irq 23 at device 9.0 on pci0
atapci1: [ITHREAD]
atapci1: AHCI v1.20 controller with 6 3Gbps ports, PM supported
ata2: <ATA channel 0> on atapci1
ata2: [ITHREAD]
ata3: <ATA channel 1> on atapci1
ata3: [ITHREAD]
ata4: <ATA channel 2> on atapci1
ata4: [ITHREAD]
ata5: <ATA channel 3> on atapci1
ata5: [ITHREAD]
ata6: <ATA channel 4> on atapci1
ata6: [ITHREAD]
ata7: <ATA channel 5> on atapci1
ata7: [ITHREAD]
nfe0: <NVIDIA nForce MCP77 Networking Adapter> port 0xc880-0xc887 mem 0xfcf7c000-0xfcf7cfff,0xfcf7f400-0xfcf7f4ff,0xfcf7f000-0xfcf7f00f irq 20 at device 10.0 on pci0
miibus0: <MII bus> on nfe0
rgephy0: <RTL8169S/8110S/8211B media interface> PHY 3 on miibus0
rgephy0:  10baseT, 10baseT-FDX, 100baseTX, 100baseTX-FDX, 1000baseT, 1000baseT-FDX, auto
nfe0: Ethernet address: 00:24:8c:d4:d8:fe
nfe0: [FILTER]
pcib2: <ACPI PCI-PCI bridge> at device 11.0 on pci0
pci2: <ACPI PCI bus> on pcib2
vgapci0: <VGA-compatible display> port 0xec00-0xec7f mem 0xfd000000-0xfdffffff,0xf0000000-0xf7ffffff,0xfa000000-0xfbffffff irq 21 at device 0.0 on pci2
pcib3: <ACPI PCI-PCI bridge> irq 16 at device 16.0 on pci0
pci3: <ACPI PCI bus> on pcib3
pcib4: <ACPI PCI-PCI bridge> irq 17 at device 18.0 on pci0
pci4: <ACPI PCI bus> on pcib4
acpi_button0: <Power Button> on acpi0
ACPI Warning: \\_SB_.PCI0.SBRG.FDC_._FDE: Return type mismatch - found Package, expected Buffer 20090521 nspredef-1051
fdc0: <floppy drive controller (FDE)> port 0x3f0-0x3f5,0x3f7 irq 6 drq 2 on acpi0
fdc0: [FILTER]
ppc0: <Parallel port> port 0x378-0x37f irq 7 on acpi0
ppc0: Generic chipset (NIBBLE-only) in COMPATIBLE mode
ppc0: [ITHREAD]
ppbus0: <Parallel port bus> on ppc0
plip0: <PLIP network interface> on ppbus0
plip0: [ITHREAD]
lpt0: <Printer> on ppbus0
lpt0: [ITHREAD]
lpt0: Interrupt-driven port
ppi0: <Parallel I/O> on ppbus0
atrtc0: <AT realtime clock> port 0x70-0x71 on acpi0
atkbdc0: <Keyboard controller (i8042)> port 0x60,0x64 irq 1 on acpi0
atkbd0: <AT Keyboard> irq 1 on atkbdc0
kbd0 at atkbd0
atkbd0: [GIANT-LOCKED]
atkbd0: [ITHREAD]
uart0: <16550 or compatible> port 0x3f8-0x3ff irq 4 flags 0x10 on acpi0
uart0: [FILTER]
cpu0: <ACPI CPU> on acpi0
hwpstate0: <Cool`n'Quiet 2.0> on cpu0
cpu1: <ACPI CPU> on acpi0
sc0: <System console> at flags 0x100 on isa0
sc0: VGA <16 virtual consoles, flags=0x300>
vga0: <Generic ISA VGA> at port 0x3c0-0x3df iomem 0xa0000-0xbffff on isa0
Timecounters tick every 1.000 msec
usbus0: 12Mbps Full Speed USB v1.0
usbus1: 480Mbps High Speed USB v2.0
usbus2: 12Mbps Full Speed USB v1.0
usbus3: 480Mbps High Speed USB v2.0
acd0: DVDR <TSSTcorp CDDVDW SH-S202J/SB02> at ata0-master UDMA66
ugen0.1: <nVidia> at usbus0
uhub0: <nVidia OHCI root HUB, class 9/0, rev 1.00/1.00, addr 1> on usbus0
ugen1.1: <nVidia> at usbus1
uhub1: <nVidia EHCI root HUB, class 9/0, rev 2.00/1.00, addr 1> on usbus1
ugen2.1: <nVidia> at usbus2
uhub2: <nVidia OHCI root HUB, class 9/0, rev 1.00/1.00, addr 1> on usbus2
ugen3.1: <nVidia> at usbus3
uhub3: <nVidia EHCI root HUB, class 9/0, rev 2.00/1.00, addr 1> on usbus3
ad1: 305245MB <Seagate ST3320620A 3.AAE> at ata0-slave UDMA100
GEOM: ad1s1: geometry does not match label (255h,63s != 16h,63s).
ad4: 953869MB <Seagate ST31000528AS CC34> at ata2-master SATA300
SMP: AP CPU #1 Launched!
Root mount waiting for: usbus3 usbus2 usbus1 usbus0
uhub0: 6 ports with 6 removable, self powered
uhub2: 6 ports with 6 removable, self powered
Root mount waiting for: usbus3 usbus1
Root mount waiting for: usbus3 usbus1
uhub1: 6 ports with 6 removable, self powered
uhub3: 6 ports with 6 removable, self powered
Trying to mount root from ufs:/dev/ad4s1a
WARNING: / was not properly dismounted
ugen0.2: <Logitech> at usbus0
ums0: <Logitech USB Receiver, class 0/0, rev 1.10/46.00, addr 2> on usbus0
ums0: 8 buttons and [XYZ] coordinates ID=0
uhid0: <Logitech USB Receiver, class 0/0, rev 1.10/46.00, addr 2> on usbus0
WARNING: /tmp was not properly dismounted
WARNING: /var was not properly dismounted
nfe0: link state changed to UP
* Motherboard is an ASUS M3N78-VM
* Processor is an AMD AthlonII X2-250
* Boot HD (ad4) is a Seagate SATA 1tb
* 2nd HD (ad1) is a Seagate IDE 320gb with an old FreeBSD installation not automatically mounted and not listed in fstab. (It was not mounted when the freeze happened, it is only there for me to get previous data from)

ACPI 2.0 support is disabled in bios (default setting). I tried disabling ACPI APIC support in the bios, but it gave me the "mountroot>" prompt when I tried booting. Choosing the Option 2 from the FBSD boot screen (Boot without ACPI) also gave the "mountroot>" prompt. It boots normally otherwise.

Does anyone have any suggestions for me to fix the freezing? I gather from searches that it may have something to do with the computer losing contact with the HD, but have not found a solution (or an explanation).

Also, what, if anything, should I do to remedy this:
Code:
acpi0: Power Button (fixed)
acpi0: reservation of fee00000, 1000 (3) failed
acpi0: reservation of 100000, 7ff00000 (3) failed
acpi0: reservation of 0, a0000 (3) failed
and this:
Code:
ACPI Warning: \\_SB_.PCI0.SBRG.FDC_._FDE: Return type mismatch - found Package, expected Buffer 20090521 nspredef-1051
Thanks for help.
Reply With Quote
  #2   (View Single Post)  
Old 29th November 2009
J65nko J65nko is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Budel - the Netherlands
Posts: 3,116
Thanked 182 Times in 149 Posts
Default

According to Roland Smith's answer to http://lists.freebsd.org/pipermail/f...ry/047744.html it could be a loose IDE/SATA cable.
__________________
You don't need to be a genius to debug a pf.conf firewall ruleset, you just need the guts to run tcpdump
Reply With Quote
  #3   (View Single Post)  
Old 29th November 2009
AncientDragonfly's Avatar
AncientDragonfly AncientDragonfly is offline
not quite new user
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 25
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by J65nko View Post
According to Roland Smith's answer to http://lists.freebsd.org/pipermail/f...ry/047744.html it could be a loose IDE/SATA cable.
Thank you very much. I will check that when I can open the box, and reply back.

Edit:
I opened the box and checked both ends of the cable; both seemed to be firmly seated, but I pushed on them just to make sure. Then closed the box back up and restarted, and will leave it running for a while and see if it freezes again.

Last edited by AncientDragonfly; 30th November 2009 at 03:00 AM. Reason: update
Reply With Quote
  #4   (View Single Post)  
Old 30th November 2009
Carpetsmoker's Avatar
Carpetsmoker Carpetsmoker is offline
Real Name: Martin
Old man from scene 24
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Eindhoven, Netherlands
Posts: 2,051
Thanked 198 Times in 156 Posts
Default

I would check my drive. It looks new, but you never know. New drives can break too.

MHDD is an excellent program to do that, you can download it from:
http://hddguru.com/content/en/software/2005.10.02-MHDD/

It's the best hard disk test program I know of, but with somewhat ugly graphics and not the best help, a quickstart:
o Press SHIFT+F3 to detect drives if this isn't done at startup.
o Select drive.
o Press F8 to check SMART attributes
o Press F4 twice to scan the drive. This will take a while.
__________________
UNIX was not designed to stop you from doing stupid things, because that would also stop you from doing clever things.
Reply With Quote
  #5   (View Single Post)  
Old 1st December 2009
AncientDragonfly's Avatar
AncientDragonfly AncientDragonfly is offline
not quite new user
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 25
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks, Carpetsmoker. That looks like it will be my next step. It stayed running for 22 hours this time, but when I ran a whereis command, the ssh session gave me "Input/output error" and I found this on the screen upstairs:



I may have time this evening to burn the disk and set it off running, and see what I have when I get home tomorrow night. I'll report back when I have something new.
Reply With Quote
  #6   (View Single Post)  
Old 1st December 2009
J65nko J65nko is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Budel - the Netherlands
Posts: 3,116
Thanked 182 Times in 149 Posts
Default

If you google for g_vfs_done you will find quite a lot of reports of this error, without a clear solution.
__________________
You don't need to be a genius to debug a pf.conf firewall ruleset, you just need the guts to run tcpdump
Reply With Quote
  #7   (View Single Post)  
Old 1st December 2009
BSDfan666 BSDfan666 is offline
Real Name: N/A, this is the interweb.
Helpful companion
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,223
Thanked 193 Times in 184 Posts
Default

I think it might either be disk failure or an ATA controller bug, not sure what you can recommend beyond trying another OS and seeing if the problem persists.
Reply With Quote
  #8   (View Single Post)  
Old 1st December 2009
AncientDragonfly's Avatar
AncientDragonfly AncientDragonfly is offline
not quite new user
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 25
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I have no news yet; I didn't get MHDD burned to a CD last night, but I have done it now, and I will start it running when I get home this evening.

Searching for g_vfs_done did indeed turn up a lot of mentions of this type of problem, and it doesn't seem to be limited to SATA, the chipset, version of FreeBSD, or any other factor in common with my particular setup. I have, however, gotten some more ideas of things to test.

I would like to avoid wiping this install if I can because of the time I've spent adding and configuring the ports I need. There was a lot of compiling and disk accessing that went on before the freezing started. I would also like to avoid buying more hardware just for testing purposes. This is the only SATA drive I have, although I do have some (smaller) unused IDE drives.

This thread implies it could be memory related: http://www.daemonforums.org/showthread.php?t=2363
which is interesting, and a possibility, because the memory and CD/DVD are the only parts that were in my previous system. The previous motherboard had a component burn out, literally, which left scorch marks on the back of the mb. It might be that the memory was damaged in a way that wasn't apparent until the freezing occurred.

Another thread somewhere suggested it might be a power supply issue, that is, not enough power, which I guess I can test by removing the 2nd HD. The power supply is new, 460W.

Other ideas my search prompted were:
IRQ conflict? (Not my strong suit, does anyone see anything in dmesg?)
Bad SATA cable? (I have another one that came with the HD)
Bad connector on MB? (move to another connector
Bios update? (there are a couple of newer versions available)

Question about MHDD: if the problem is not the drive itself, but somewhere in the connection between the drive and the processor, will that be shown by the test, or will the test register that the drive is bad when it may not be? After I run the MHDD test, I'll run memtest.
Reply With Quote
  #9   (View Single Post)  
Old 1st December 2009
Carpetsmoker's Avatar
Carpetsmoker Carpetsmoker is offline
Real Name: Martin
Old man from scene 24
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Eindhoven, Netherlands
Posts: 2,051
Thanked 198 Times in 156 Posts
Default

Quote:
Another thread somewhere suggested it might be a power supply issue, that is, not enough power, which I guess I can test by removing the 2nd HD. The power supply is new, 460W.
Well, best way to find out that is to hook up a voltage meter and check You can often see the voltages in the BIOS too, but I prefer a good ol' voltage meter (Yellow is 12V, Red is 5V, black is ground).

Quote:
Bios update? (there are a couple of newer versions available)
Of course, this never hurts.

Quote:
Question about MHDD: if the problem is not the drive itself, but somewhere in the connection between the drive and the processor, will that be shown by the test, or will the test register that the drive is bad when it may not be? After I run the MHDD test, I'll run memtest.
MHDD is no magic tool. An error is an error. It's up to you to find the cause.

As a sidenote, the real problem are the top three lines (ata2: port not ready, ad4: device detached)...
__________________
UNIX was not designed to stop you from doing stupid things, because that would also stop you from doing clever things.
Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2009
jb_daefo jb_daefo is offline
Package Pilot
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 196
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

How badly do you want the sata drive as your principal drive
if you have others?
I've a sata controller on pci which is unstable "to sata" and
usually hoses the target filesystem upon, say, a rsync session.
Here, the fix...
a... gjournal setup on the target (maybe irrelevant)
b... using bwlimit" parameter to rsync to make the target
receive data at 1/10th the rate of the source disk (the
freebsd forums has details in a post). That makes the
controller, unreliable otherwise, perfect for backups ( I can
merrily use the system as otherwise, rsyncing a FS at a
time, as long as while it is just root, a few non-default-mounted
filesystems are unmounted. )
Your post maybe (???) implies this setup is more reliable than
the/a sata disk, used as the primary disk in a system with
sata chipsets originally on the motherboard.
__________________
using /LOOKAT/ with /var/db/pkg files and portmaster/aliases/pipes/find/grep to meteorically speedup port upgrades/installs...

Last edited by jb_daefo; 2nd December 2009 at 02:22 AM. Reason: to clarify last paragraph
Reply With Quote
Old 2nd December 2009
robbak's Avatar
robbak robbak is offline
Real Name: Robert Backhaus
VPN Cryptographer
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: North Queensland, Australia
Posts: 366
Thanked 40 Times in 39 Posts
Default

Is that power supply from a good manufacturer, or is it just a generic tin box? While I'd be happy with a 460W name-brand PSU with 2 HDDs, a generic cheapie could easily be the problem.
__________________
The only dumb question is a question not asked.
The only dumb answer is an answer not given.
Reply With Quote
Old 2nd December 2009
AncientDragonfly's Avatar
AncientDragonfly AncientDragonfly is offline
not quite new user
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 25
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Carpetsmoker View Post
Well, best way to find out that is to hook up a voltage meter and check You can often see the voltages in the BIOS too, but I prefer a good ol' voltage meter (Yellow is 12V, Red is 5V, black is ground).
Eee! I don't know what I'm doing with that well enough, even though I have a meter - I'm afraid I'll stick the probes into the wrong place and either blow up the whole computer, or electrocute myself!

Quote:
Of course, this never hurts.
I'll do the bios update next then, maybe.

Quote:
MHDD is no magic tool. An error is an error. It's up to you to find the cause.

As a sidenote, the real problem are the top three lines (ata2: port not ready, ad4: device detached)...
MHDD didn't seem to be able to find the disk. It showed me 1, 3, and 5 as selections when I hit Shift-F3, with 1 being the CD/DVD, but 3 and 5 both gave an error (which I don't remember off the top of my head, but can recreate it later), and so did 2, 4, and 6, when I entered them. I did successfully boot of the SATA disk right after this, just to make sure it was still there.

After that, I went ahead and started memtest, and as of this morning, 12 hours later, there were no errors. I left it running anyway, and will see if there are still no errors this evening. If not, I'll call that done, and try to work with MHDD some more, or move onto something else, like the bios update.
Reply With Quote
Old 2nd December 2009
AncientDragonfly's Avatar
AncientDragonfly AncientDragonfly is offline
not quite new user
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 25
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jb_daefo View Post
How badly do you want the sata drive as your principal drive
if you have others?
I would like to use it as the principal drive, since it's the biggest one I have, and since I did buy it specifically for putting into this machine. I didn't get it _because_ it was a SATA, though, just because of the size.

I have 3 modes in my bios: SATA, RAID, and AHCI. It is currently set to AHCI. I might try setting to SATA, although I have read that SATA really means to run in IDE mode. (I don't know for sure, though, because the mb manual is pitiful at explaining the different bios options.) I don't care what mode it runs in, just that it runs.

Quote:
I've a sata controller on pci which is unstable "to sata" and
usually hoses the target filesystem upon, say, a rsync session.
Here, the fix...
a... gjournal setup on the target (maybe irrelevant)
b... using bwlimit" parameter to rsync to make the target
receive data at 1/10th the rate of the source disk (the
freebsd forums has details in a post). That makes the
controller, unreliable otherwise, perfect for backups ( I can
merrily use the system as otherwise, rsyncing a FS at a
time, as long as while it is just root, a few non-default-mounted
filesystems are unmounted. )
Hmmm... While that sounds interesting, I really just want to be able to get back to doing what I normally do, which is not so much tweaking my system, but just using it because it does most of what I need to do so much better than the XP laptop I've been using since my previous mb fried.

Quote:
Your post maybe (???) implies this setup is more reliable than
the/a sata disk, used as the primary disk in a system with
sata chipsets originally on the motherboard.
I don't know if I'd say that, because a large number of people seem to be using SATA drives as their only drive without separate controller boards. However, I get the impression most people don't do regular backups, so in that sense, it's definitely more reliable.

Last edited by AncientDragonfly; 3rd December 2009 at 02:31 AM. Reason: changed EHCI to AHCI
Reply With Quote
Old 2nd December 2009
AncientDragonfly's Avatar
AncientDragonfly AncientDragonfly is offline
not quite new user
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 25
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by robbak View Post
Is that power supply from a good manufacturer, or is it just a generic tin box? While I'd be happy with a 460W name-brand PSU with 2 HDDs, a generic cheapie could easily be the problem.
It's a CoolerMaster. Is that considered good (or adequate, at least)?
Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2009
AncientDragonfly's Avatar
AncientDragonfly AncientDragonfly is offline
not quite new user
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 25
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I may be getting somewhere! MHDD didn't recognize the drive because it (MHDD) doesn't work in AHCI mode: http://forum.hddguru.com/mhdd-doesn-...v7-t13113.html

So I set it to SATA, which I (now after more research) read is there to support "1st generation SATA": http://www.hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=1407996

MHDD's checking the drive now, and estimates just over 2 hours more to go.

I wonder if the freezing was a problem with AHCI mode, and might not happen in SATA?

BTW, no memory errors after 26 hours of checking.
Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2009
robbak's Avatar
robbak robbak is offline
Real Name: Robert Backhaus
VPN Cryptographer
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: North Queensland, Australia
Posts: 366
Thanked 40 Times in 39 Posts
Default

CoolerMaster should be good.
OH, and what is so difficult about fishing a old-style hdd connector out of your box and sticking the probes of a multimeter into it? Assuming you can [read instructions about how to] use a multimeter well enough to know volts from amps or ohms, that is.
__________________
The only dumb question is a question not asked.
The only dumb answer is an answer not given.
Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2009
J65nko J65nko is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Budel - the Netherlands
Posts: 3,116
Thanked 182 Times in 149 Posts
Default

Measuring a ATX power supply is not that easy. You first have to connect two pins to turn the PSU on. Some PSU's also switch off when there is no load.
__________________
You don't need to be a genius to debug a pf.conf firewall ruleset, you just need the guts to run tcpdump
Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2009
AncientDragonfly's Avatar
AncientDragonfly AncientDragonfly is offline
not quite new user
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 25
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I took the IDE drive out for the disk test.

Results:







Carpetsmoker, what do you think?
Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2009
Carpetsmoker's Avatar
Carpetsmoker Carpetsmoker is offline
Real Name: Martin
Old man from scene 24
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Eindhoven, Netherlands
Posts: 2,051
Thanked 198 Times in 156 Posts
Default

At the first screen shot is says ERROR twice, with UNC status. This means there are (at least) two bad sectors.

There are also a number of reallocated sectors, high read error rate, and a number of other smart attributes which don't look good.

Conclusion:
You drive is broken. You must replace it.

You can check warranty status for Seagate drives online:
http://www.seagate.com/www/en-us/sup..._&_submit_rma/
__________________
UNIX was not designed to stop you from doing stupid things, because that would also stop you from doing clever things.
Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2009
AncientDragonfly's Avatar
AncientDragonfly AncientDragonfly is offline
not quite new user
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 25
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Carpetsmoker View Post
At the first screen shot is says ERROR twice, with UNC status. This means there are (at least) two bad sectors.

There are also a number of reallocated sectors, high read error rate, and a number of other smart attributes which don't look good.

Conclusion:
You drive is broken. You must replace it.

You can check warranty status for Seagate drives online:
http://www.seagate.com/www/en-us/sup..._&_submit_rma/
Confirmed.

Fortunately, it was just within the 30-day return period, and after the tech guy at the little hole-in-the-wall computer store gave me a lecture about always using the manufacturer's test program because it will give him an error code he needs for his return to the mfg, then tested it for himself with Seagate's test program, he agreed it was bad, and I walked out with another new one, hopefully not just like the old one. I have learned a valuable lesson here, which is to test even a new disk before going through the process of installing the OS and a bunch of ports.

The adventure of probing my power supply can wait (oh, happy day!) until another time. If the 2nd install goes as well as the first one (until the freezing started), I will soon be using the new system without problems.

Thanks, everyone, for helping me out with your suggestions and support!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FreeBSD 8.0-RELEASE Nightweaver FreeBSD Installation and Upgrading 10 10th December 2009 12:12 AM
OpenBSD OpenBSD 4.6 Release Carpetsmoker News 21 11th November 2009 11:13 PM
FreeBSD 7.2-RELEASE vermaden FreeBSD General 6 12th May 2009 08:33 PM
-Release vs. -Stable guitarscn OpenBSD Installation and Upgrading 3 2nd October 2008 02:32 PM
FreeBSD 6.2-RELEASE > 7.0-RELEASE Upgrade Marci FreeBSD Installation and Upgrading 2 23rd July 2008 02:10 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content copyright © 2007-2010, the authors
Daemon image copyright ©1988, Marshall Kirk McKusick