DaemonForums  

Go Back   DaemonForums > OpenBSD > OpenBSD General

OpenBSD General Other questions regarding OpenBSD which do not fit in any of the categories below.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1   (View Single Post)  
Old 26th March 2011
Mako_Elite Mako_Elite is offline
BSD_ROCKS
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 39
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default ATI Radeon HD 6250 1366x768 resolution problem

Hello there,

I recently purchased Gateway laptop NV51B08

AMD dual core C-50 1.0 GHz, 320GB HD, ATI Radeon HD 6250 graphics.

I am running OpenBSD 4.8_amd64. Everything seems to work including Fn keys. Only think that is not working is the resolution 1366x768 (native)

I did X -configure and load and save the xorg.conf.new to xorg.conf in
/etc/X11. Then edited to set default to 1366x768 even with vesa driver.

It always default to 1024x768. I even tried 1280x768. Whatever I do it will only display 1024x768. xrandr command confirm 1024x768.
Looking in dmesg it appears that this ATI video chip is not supported yet.
I am not looking for 3D support, just to display in native 1366x768 even
with vesa.
Also I did try latest 4.9 snapshot with same results.
It is anything I can do? Or just live with it until ATI chip get supported in
the future releases.

Any help would be greatly appreciated

thank you

(attached dmesg, xorg.conf files) gatewayNV51B.txt, xorg.conf.txt
Attached Files
File Type: txt gatewayNV51B.txt (6.6 KB, 79 views)
File Type: txt xorg.conf.txt (2.0 KB, 125 views)
Reply With Quote
  #2   (View Single Post)  
Old 26th March 2011
adamk adamk is offline
Spam Deminer
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 250
Thanked 5 Times in 8 Posts
Default

You will have to use the vesa driver. While I don't think it will work (simply because 1366x768 is not a vesa mode), you can try creating a modeline with cvt or gtf , adding that to the Monitor section and then adding the defined mode to the Display subsections.

Adam
Reply With Quote
  #3   (View Single Post)  
Old 26th March 2011
BSDfan666 BSDfan666 is offline
Real Name: N/A, this is the interweb.
Helpful companion
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,223
Thanked 193 Times in 184 Posts
Default

Unfortunately adamk is correct, that chipset is in the Evergreen family.. open source support for that is relatively recent and I believe only KMS modesetting exists for it, on Linux.

It would have been possible to get modesetting and basic 2D/Xv had this been an r600/r700 based IGP.. i.e: Radeon HD <= 4xxx.
Reply With Quote
  #4   (View Single Post)  
Old 26th March 2011
BSDfan666 BSDfan666 is offline
Real Name: N/A, this is the interweb.
Helpful companion
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,223
Thanked 193 Times in 184 Posts
Default

Forcing VESA modes isn't really possible, the only way to get it to work is to find a way to add it to the BIOS table somehow.. it's indeed frustrating when the vendor doesn't have the native resolution in the table.

There are BIOS updates available, maybe you'll get extremely lucky..
http://support.gateway.com/us/en/pro...5&modelId=3503
Reply With Quote
  #5   (View Single Post)  
Old 26th March 2011
BSDfan666 BSDfan666 is offline
Real Name: N/A, this is the interweb.
Helpful companion
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,223
Thanked 193 Times in 184 Posts
Default

Code:
vendor "Attansic Technology", unknown product 0x1083 (class network subclass ethernet, rev 0xc0) at pci3 dev 0 function 0 not configured
If you're curious, your Ethernet card is supported in -CURRENT and.. it also made it into 4.9.
Reply With Quote
  #6   (View Single Post)  
Old 26th March 2011
Mako_Elite Mako_Elite is offline
BSD_ROCKS
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 39
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

adamk and BSDfan666,
Thanks for all the help. That is what I was suspecting with the ATI chip.

BSDfan666 thanks for the info on the BIOS updates. I did check them.
I would have to install Windows 7 back on it to , because I don't think you
could flash the BIOS from OpenBSD.
I am just gonna live with it for now. Hopefully OpenBSD 5.0 might have the
Xenocara with support for the ATI RADEON HD 6250 chip.
I am rather willing to wait. Switching to linux or windows doesn't sounds good to me. I really like OpenBSD to give it up

thanks again
Reply With Quote
  #7   (View Single Post)  
Old 26th March 2011
BSDfan666 BSDfan666 is offline
Real Name: N/A, this is the interweb.
Helpful companion
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,223
Thanked 193 Times in 184 Posts
Default

It seems the BIOS update includes a DOS updater, all you need to do is create a bootable CD or USB drive to flash.

Realistically though, vendors rarely add new features to BIOS updates, generally it just consists of CPU microcode updates/bugfixes and support for replacement components in newer hardware revisions (..LCD panels mostly).

If you can't tolerate the non-native VESA resolution, dual-booting with something else does seem to be your only option.

Good luck.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
macppc + radeon drm sigflup OpenBSD Installation and Upgrading 6 7th July 2010 10:12 PM
Xorg + Xfce4 resolution problem sniper007 FreeBSD General 4 30th April 2009 04:38 PM
Resolution problem.. PCBSD3000 FreeBSD General 5 13th April 2009 07:56 PM
X Radeon driver sum FreeBSD Installation and Upgrading 5 28th September 2008 03:49 PM
Console Resolution Problem kienjakenobi FreeBSD General 19 12th September 2008 12:20 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content copyright © 2007-2010, the authors
Daemon image copyright ©1988, Marshall Kirk McKusick