DaemonForums  

Go Back   DaemonForums > NetBSD > NetBSD General

NetBSD General Other questions regarding NetBSD which do not fit in any of the categories below.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1   (View Single Post)  
Old 9th March 2011
Mr-Biscuit Mr-Biscuit is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 272
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Grub2 sucks. NetBSD won't load.

There. How do I add it?
In fact, anything not Linux won't boot from it. Which sucks.
Reply With Quote
  #2   (View Single Post)  
Old 9th March 2011
J65nko J65nko is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Budel - the Netherlands
Posts: 3,198
Thanked 182 Times in 149 Posts
Default

Maybe the info for grub2 in ftp://ftp.eu.openbsd.org/pub/OpenBSD.../INSTALL.linux helps ....

Code:
Booting with GRUB2
-----------------
Here is a sample configuration for OpenBSD and Windows 7

menuentry "OpenBSD" {
	set root=(hd0,3,a)
	chainloader +1
}

menuentry "Windows 7" {
	insmod ntfs
	set root=(hd0,1)
	chainloader +1
}
__________________
You don't need to be a genius to debug a pf.conf firewall ruleset, you just need the guts to run tcpdump
Reply With Quote
  #3   (View Single Post)  
Old 10th March 2011
shep shep is offline
ISO Quartermaster
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Dry and Dusty
Posts: 612
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

I managed to get Debian Squeeze (parent OS) and OpenBSD dual booting but it took a custom entry in /etc/grub.d. You also have to run the update utility after you make the entry.
Other successes
http://forums.freebsd.org/showthread.php?t=9050
Reply With Quote
  #4   (View Single Post)  
Old 10th March 2011
J65nko J65nko is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Budel - the Netherlands
Posts: 3,198
Thanked 182 Times in 149 Posts
Default

How did you get it working?
__________________
You don't need to be a genius to debug a pf.conf firewall ruleset, you just need the guts to run tcpdump
Reply With Quote
  #5   (View Single Post)  
Old 10th March 2011
shep shep is offline
ISO Quartermaster
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Dry and Dusty
Posts: 612
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

This is by recall, I decided that a dual boot system was not appropriate for my main work station and converted it to a straight OpenBSD system. I have not tried NetBSD.

I remember that I installed Debian 6.0 first and did not use any extended partitions. I used Slackware cfdisk to set the partitions and label the 4th partition as A6. I also had success with fdisk in openbsd setpid as A6 on an unlabeled 4th partition.

The OpenBSD installer will recognize the A6 partition and gave the option to use the OpenBSD partition. Of course I did not install the OpenBSD boot loader. After the OpenBSD install completed the default Debian /etc/grub.d entries did not recognize the OpenBSD partition but a custom entry (keeping in mind the different naming conventions between grub1 and grub2) worked.

I also did essentially the same thing with Arch Linux and OpenBSD - The default Arch install uses grub1.

The index post does not give alot details on the linux distro used, how the partitioning was initially done.

Last edited by shep; 11th March 2011 at 01:02 AM. Reason: 1) More information added 2) cfdisk vs debian partition followed by OBSD fdisk setpid added
Reply With Quote
  #6   (View Single Post)  
Old 10th March 2011
nihonto nihonto is offline
Fdisk Soldier
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 65
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

I'm using Debian Squeeze as my main working system. Recently I have installed NetBSD on an external HDD. It's quite easy to tell Grub2 in Squeeze what to do.

1. You have to edit the file /etc/grub.d/40_custom

2. Add something like this:

Quote:
menuentry "NetBSD" {
set root=(hd0,2)
chainloader +1
}
Were I have written "set root=(hd0,2)" you have to insert your individual values concerning HDD geometry.

Be carefull: Grub2 counts hard discs from zero but partitions from one! So what has been (hd0,1) in old Grub is now (hd0,2).

3. sudo update-grub2

(4. Grub2 identified Windows XP on my old Laptop without any further hassle)

et voila
Reply With Quote
  #7   (View Single Post)  
Old 10th March 2011
shep shep is offline
ISO Quartermaster
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Dry and Dusty
Posts: 612
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

This page was helpful. It delineates the different naming conventions between grub and grub2. Also sd0 drive get grub2 entries as hd0.
http://linux.koolsolutions.com/2009/...ub2-101-class/
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FreeBSD 7.1 Rel install on 1TB won't load bsdme2 FreeBSD General 0 5th January 2009 01:58 AM
Load balancing on fbsd drhowarddrfine General software and network 2 28th December 2008 03:49 AM
RtGUI load very slow mfaridi FreeBSD Ports and Packages 0 25th November 2008 01:47 PM
pf, hfsc and load balancing hamba FreeBSD Security 5 15th October 2008 10:08 PM
Load averages on Linux corey_james Other BSD and UNIX/UNIX-like 2 22nd July 2008 03:39 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content copyright © 2007-2010, the authors
Daemon image copyright ©1988, Marshall Kirk McKusick