DaemonForums  

Go Back   DaemonForums > FreeBSD > FreeBSD General

FreeBSD General Other questions regarding FreeBSD which do not fit in any of the categories below.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1   (View Single Post)  
Old 29th May 2008
ClaptonOrient ClaptonOrient is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 13
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default digikam and ricoh r5 camera

Can anyone help me connecting a Ricoh camera in FreeBSD ?

Using digikam, selecting the camera from the set-up list, I get
Code:
Failed to connect to the camera. Please make sure it is connected properly and turned on
Trying as USB mass storage, nothing happens.

The camera settings are appropriate to both cases.

So, I try
Code:
dmesg | grep umass
which tells me
Code:
umass1: Ricoh Company Ltd. .... addr 3
da2 at umass-sim1 bus 1 targt 0 lun 0
so I try to mount it msdosfs on da2s1, and my computer freezes up - cue a lengthy, single-user fsck.

Putting
Code:
umass_enable="YES"
into /boot/loader.conf seemed to have no effect whatsoever. I guess it's something to do with the camera's filesystem, but FreeBSD ain't having it.

Any ideas appreciated.

Last edited by ClaptonOrient; 29th May 2008 at 08:56 PM. Reason: tried something else
Reply With Quote
  #2   (View Single Post)  
Old 29th May 2008
TerryP's Avatar
TerryP TerryP is offline
Arp Constable
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USofA
Posts: 1,547
Thanked 112 Times in 104 Posts
Default

I had the freeze problem once, thought it might've been from running hald (I was in a ttyv, while kde3 was running on another).


I've never had that problem since I started plugging my camera in before I start the computer, then powering on the camera when I'm ready to mount it.
__________________
My Journal

Thou shalt check the array bounds of all strings (indeed, all arrays), for surely where thou typest ``foo'' someone someday shall type ``supercalifragilisticexpialidocious''.
Reply With Quote
  #3   (View Single Post)  
Old 29th May 2008
anomie's Avatar
anomie anomie is offline
Local
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 446
Thanked 69 Times in 46 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ClaptonOrient
Any ideas appreciated.
Any ideas? Although I can't help with your specific issue, I'll say that when I've run into digital camera compatibility issues in the past I've solved them with a $12 card reader.
__________________
Kill your t.v.
Reply With Quote
  #4   (View Single Post)  
Old 30th May 2008
ClaptonOrient ClaptonOrient is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 13
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks TerryP and anomie,
Quote:
plugging my camera in before I start the computer, then powering on the camera when I'm ready to mount it.
The trouble is, the dear little Ricoh powers up automatically when it's plugged in.
Quote:
I've solved them with a $12 card reader
I think that's the way I'm going.
Reply With Quote
  #5   (View Single Post)  
Old 30th May 2008
TerryP's Avatar
TerryP TerryP is offline
Arp Constable
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USofA
Posts: 1,547
Thanked 112 Times in 104 Posts
Default

And I thought my Nikons switching from USB MSC to the regular camera mode, if it takes to long to get around to mounting it was annoying :\
__________________
My Journal

Thou shalt check the array bounds of all strings (indeed, all arrays), for surely where thou typest ``foo'' someone someday shall type ``supercalifragilisticexpialidocious''.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content copyright © 2007-2010, the authors
Daemon image copyright ©1988, Marshall Kirk McKusick