DaemonForums  

Go Back   DaemonForums > OpenBSD > OpenBSD Installation and Upgrading

OpenBSD Installation and Upgrading Installing and upgrading OpenBSD.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1   (View Single Post)  
Old 24th April 2012
raindog308 raindog308 is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 35
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question Install 5.0 from a 4.9 CD?

I have a remote server I'd like to upgrade. 4.9 CD is available for boot - is it possible to boot of it and then install 5.0 from the Internet?
Reply With Quote
  #2   (View Single Post)  
Old 24th April 2012
shep shep is offline
ISO Quartermaster
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Dry and Dusty
Posts: 611
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Upgrade 4.9 to 5.0

If your server has an internet connection booting the bsd.rd per the the instructions would be easiest. I usually ftp the 5.0 bsd.rd from a nearby mirror to the / directory. Reboot entering 'hd0a:/bsd.rd' at the the boot prompt (hard drive can vary depending on your setup)
Reply With Quote
  #3   (View Single Post)  
Old 24th April 2012
jggimi's Avatar
jggimi jggimi is online now
More noise than signal
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 3,806
Thanked 214 Times in 189 Posts
Default

An Internet connection isn't the only requirement. A remote console or a remote human are necessary. The former is expensive and requires planning with amd64 or i386. This is why the upgrade guides describe a manual/remote process. It is not foolproof, so testing on an equivalent machine locally is recommended. Or traveling to the remote server may become necessary for recovery.

Last edited by jggimi; 24th April 2012 at 09:44 AM. Reason: typo
Reply With Quote
  #4   (View Single Post)  
Old 24th April 2012
raindog308 raindog308 is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 35
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

It's actually a KVM VPS, so I have remote and can perform manual tasks over the wire. Unfortunately, the provider has been slow about adding the 5.0 ISO to the changer. They have the 4.9 ISO.

I ftp'd the 5.0 bsd.rd and booted off it, selecting Upgrade. Unfortunately, it seems to have completely stopped at "Let's upgrade the sets!" It did the fscks and everything was fine, then said "Let's upgrade the sets!" and has been sitting there for 20-odd minutes.

I was expecting it to ask me where to fetch the packages from, since it has no idea where to get them at this step :-) I've never done an upgrade before though.

I suppose worst case I could just (I)nstall.
Reply With Quote
  #5   (View Single Post)  
Old 24th April 2012
raindog308 raindog308 is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 35
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Never mind - mistake on my part. Upgrade worked fine.
Reply With Quote
  #6   (View Single Post)  
Old 24th April 2012
jggimi's Avatar
jggimi jggimi is online now
More noise than signal
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 3,806
Thanked 214 Times in 189 Posts
Default

Quote:
I've never done an upgrade before though.
You are brave to attempt any of this remotely.

From the KVM can you CTRL-C and reach a shell prompt? If you can, is the ramdisk kernel able to communicate over the OS's network interfaces?

I don't understand the cause of the "hang" from the information you've provided. Regardless of cause, the manual method outlined in the upgrade guide may be a solution.

Whether you use the ramdisk kernel and scripts, or use the manual upgrade in place, you should have backups of your production system, so that you can recover from them if necessary.
Reply With Quote
  #7   (View Single Post)  
Old 24th April 2012
jggimi's Avatar
jggimi jggimi is online now
More noise than signal
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 3,806
Thanked 214 Times in 189 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by raindog308 View Post
Never mind - mistake on my part. Upgrade worked fine.
Oh. Then never mind.
Reply With Quote
  #8   (View Single Post)  
Old 24th April 2012
raindog308 raindog308 is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 35
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

As always, I thank the cantankerous curmudgeon for his help.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How - To install GNOME vile I install OpenBSD ? looop OpenBSD Installation and Upgrading 6 24th April 2010 08:58 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content copyright © 2007-2010, the authors
Daemon image copyright ©1988, Marshall Kirk McKusick