DaemonForums  

Go Back   DaemonForums > OpenBSD > OpenBSD Packages and Ports

OpenBSD Packages and Ports Installation and upgrading of packages and ports on OpenBSD.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1   (View Single Post)  
Old 20th July 2012
sw2wolf sw2wolf is offline
λ programmer
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: China
Posts: 89
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default How does tmux select contents only in one pane ?

I split the window into two panes. When I select contents to copy using mouse in one pane, it will select contents in another pane.


Can I select the contents only in one pane using mouse ?

BTW, i start tmux by `xterm -e tmux` !

Last edited by sw2wolf; 23rd July 2012 at 05:31 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2   (View Single Post)  
Old 20th July 2012
graudeejs's Avatar
graudeejs graudeejs is offline
Real Name: Aldis Berjoza
formerly killasmurf86
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Riga, Latvia
Posts: 588
Thanked 29 Times in 26 Posts
Default

Not that I know. AFAIK, tmux doesn't work with mouse.
Reply With Quote
  #3   (View Single Post)  
Old 20th July 2012
sw2wolf sw2wolf is offline
λ programmer
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: China
Posts: 89
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by graudeejs View Post
Not that I know. AFAIK, tmux doesn't work with mouse.
Then how can i copy xterm contents to other application ?
Reply With Quote
  #4   (View Single Post)  
Old 20th July 2012
jggimi's Avatar
jggimi jggimi is offline
More noise than signal
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 3,674
Thanked 214 Times in 189 Posts
Default

Google is a wonderful tool:

http://awhan.wordpress.com/2012/04/1...te-with-mouse/
Reply With Quote
  #5   (View Single Post)  
Old 21st July 2012
sw2wolf sw2wolf is offline
λ programmer
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: China
Posts: 89
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jggimi View Post
sorry ! i cannot visit the URL you provide. i will continue googling ...
Reply With Quote
  #6   (View Single Post)  
Old 21st July 2012
jggimi's Avatar
jggimi jggimi is offline
More noise than signal
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 3,674
Thanked 214 Times in 189 Posts
Default

Here is the excerpt you could not see:
Quote:
tmux copy paste with mouse

April 18, 2012 by awhan



problem at hand: how do i use the mouse to copy/paste text in xterm running tmux?
normally you should not have problems selecting text and pasting it with your mouse. everybody knows about left clicking and then dragging to select and copy the text. in order to paste you need to middle click your mouse. however there are certain options which if set will prevent this functionality.


if you have set the following options
  • mouse-select-pane
  • mouse-select-window
you will notice that you are not able to select text at all.
the solution is to use the shift key.
hold down the shift key and then left click and drag across the target text. you must also hold down the shift key and then middle click in order to paste the text.


this is not mentioned in the tmux man pages so i do not think this is a tmux feature. guess this has something to do with xterm but i m not sure.


xterm version 278-1
tmux version 1.6-2
Reply With Quote
  #7   (View Single Post)  
Old 21st July 2012
sw2wolf sw2wolf is offline
λ programmer
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: China
Posts: 89
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

thanks for your answer! Now i can copy and paste using mouse. However, i cannot select contents only in one pane if i split the window into two panes.
Reply With Quote
  #8   (View Single Post)  
Old 22nd July 2012
IdOp's Avatar
IdOp IdOp is offline
Too dumb for a smartphone
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: twisting on the daemon's fork(2)
Posts: 562
Thanked 14 Times in 13 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sw2wolf View Post
However, i cannot select contents only in one pane if i split the window into two panes.
It might be possible:

% man tmux

and search for "mouse".

(I haven't taken it any further than that here.)
Reply With Quote
  #9   (View Single Post)  
Old 23rd July 2012
sw2wolf sw2wolf is offline
λ programmer
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: China
Posts: 89
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

set -g mode-mouse on
set -g mouse-select-pane on

then i can only select contents in one pane. but i cannot copy the contents to other application unless pressing shift key together.

However, it will select contents in other pane when pressing shift key.


Hope i make it clear.

Last edited by sw2wolf; 23rd July 2012 at 05:35 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A visual guide to TMUX J65nko News 0 19th February 2011 07:43 PM
How to select all in vi? guitarscn General software and network 13 15th December 2010 06:15 PM
Why I can't select language from gdm? fender0107401 OpenBSD General 6 11th May 2010 11:09 PM
tmux disable automatic resize Carpetsmoker General software and network 7 25th June 2009 10:54 PM
Problem after migrating the /var and its contents to another partition harisman FreeBSD General 2 9th May 2008 04:59 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content copyright © 2007-2010, the authors
Daemon image copyright ©1988, Marshall Kirk McKusick