DaemonForums  

Go Back   DaemonForums > Miscellaneous > General Hardware

General Hardware General hardware related questions.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1   (View Single Post)  
Old 9th August 2012
daemonfowl daemonfowl is offline
bsdstudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: DaemonLand
Posts: 834
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default connection only with ADSL (Multi-Mode) ..

Hi all of you !

Something I couldn't understand :
This Mesozoic fossil called con****** Router refuses to connect to ISP except with ADSL (Multi-Mode) ..
why ?
'why' .. Satriani's instrumental .. a present for anyone providing help :-)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WEQkKAbIReQ

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2   (View Single Post)  
Old 9th August 2012
jggimi's Avatar
jggimi jggimi is online now
More noise than signal
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 3,612
Thanked 214 Times in 189 Posts
Default

Your ISP's technical support staff may be able to give you some guidance. Unlike us, they know what connectivity options they offer.

We, on the other hand, know almost nothing about your environment. We know nothing about your networking equipment, or your ISP.

As usual, you ask questions that can't be answered without more info.
Reply With Quote
  #3   (View Single Post)  
Old 10th August 2012
daemonfowl daemonfowl is offline
bsdstudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: DaemonLand
Posts: 834
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Some time ago, with the same router I used to connect with ADSL2+ option as it actually supports it .. I haven't changed any settings & the environment has been quite simple : 5 hosts connect to the internet via a router using dhcp .. suddently I couldn't connect .. so I started playing with those ADSL advanced options .. the 'ADSL (Multi-Mode)' was the one that worked among all.

( by the way .. same happened to a new Dlink Router that I borrowed to test things)
Reply With Quote
  #4   (View Single Post)  
Old 10th August 2012
jggimi's Avatar
jggimi jggimi is online now
More noise than signal
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 3,612
Thanked 214 Times in 189 Posts
Default

Sigh. We're not mind readers. If you want our help, you're going to have to post information that will allow one (or more) of us to help you.
  1. Make and model of your router.
  2. Specific router firmware level
  3. Specific ADSL configurations you tried that failed to work.
  4. The specific ADSL configuration you set that is now working.
  5. Name of your ISP.
  6. WiFi LAN configuration you set that the router "fails to remember"
  7. WiFi LAN configuration you are using now that appears to work.
Please redact any personally identifying information, such as your publicly facing IP address.


----


If this is too much work and effort, then please contact your ISP's support staff, and request from them the support you pay for.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Altq on multi wan and multi zone environment apsaras OpenBSD Security 0 26th May 2012 11:19 PM
Single and Multi User Mode Logging chicago OpenBSD General 2 13th May 2011 06:51 PM
Bewan ADSL modem bewan adsl pci pico OpenBSD Installation and Upgrading 2 2nd April 2010 05:48 AM
Working dial-up connection - No Client Connection vigol FreeBSD General 5 22nd November 2009 10:59 PM
firewall for 2 adsl milo974 OpenBSD General 2 13th October 2008 05:03 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content copyright © 2007-2010, the authors
Daemon image copyright ©1988, Marshall Kirk McKusick