DaemonForums  

Go Back   DaemonForums > OpenBSD > OpenBSD Installation and Upgrading

OpenBSD Installation and Upgrading Installing and upgrading OpenBSD.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1   (View Single Post)  
Old 6th June 2013
daemonfowl daemonfowl is offline
bsdstudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: DaemonLand
Posts: 834
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default OpenBSD -current install mising half size of a 1 tb disk

Hi eveybody !

I've just installed OpenBSD -current on a new 1tb disk accepting autolayout and to my amazement :
Code:
$ df -h
Filesystem     Size    Used   Avail Capacity  Mounted on
/dev/wd0a     1005M    293M    662M    31%    /
/dev/wd0k      298G    492M    282G     0%    /home
/dev/wd0d      3.9G   34.0K    3.7G     0%    /tmp
/dev/wd0f      2.0G    809M    1.1G    42%    /usr
/dev/wd0g     1005M    189M    766M    20%    /usr/X11R6
/dev/wd0h      9.8G    1.7G    7.7G    18%    /usr/local
/dev/wd0j      2.0G    2.0K    1.9G     0%    /usr/obj
/dev/wd0i      2.0G    2.0K    1.9G     0%    /usr/src
/dev/wd0e      7.9G   20.3M    7.5G     0%    /var
Why has Puffy missed the other half ? is it bound by ram ? I have 2g .. is it bound by cpu ? .....

Regards.

Last edited by daemonfowl; 6th June 2013 at 12:25 PM. Reason: sorry for [code] mistake
Reply With Quote
  #2   (View Single Post)  
Old 6th June 2013
marcolino's Avatar
marcolino marcolino is offline
Real Name: Mark
Custom Title Maker
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: At the Mountains of Madness
Posts: 113
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Does disklabel wd0 report the entire/expected disk size? If so, then the auto layout only used that much. If not, then something else is limiting what OpenBSD can access.
__________________
That's nothing a couple o' pints wouldn't fix.

Last edited by marcolino; 6th June 2013 at 12:51 PM. Reason: Clicked too quickly
Reply With Quote
  #3   (View Single Post)  
Old 6th June 2013
daemonfowl daemonfowl is offline
bsdstudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: DaemonLand
Posts: 834
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi marcolino !
Actually it does detect c=931.5G
Code:
 disklabel -h wd0  
# /dev/rwd0c:
type: ESDI
disk: ESDI/IDE disk
label: TOSHIBA MQ01ABD1
duid: 6057e90609059129
flags:
bytes/sector: 512
sectors/track: 63
tracks/cylinder: 255
sectors/cylinder: 16065
cylinders: 121601
total sectors: 1953525168 # total bytes: 931.5G
boundstart: 64
boundend: 1953520065
drivedata: 0

16 partitions:
#                size           offset  fstype [fsize bsize  cpg]
  a:             1.0G               64  4.2BSD   2048 16384    1 # /
  b:             2.2G          2097216    swap                   # none
  c:           931.5G                0  unused
  d:             4.0G          6811840  4.2BSD   2048 16384    1 # /tmp
  e:             8.0G         15200416  4.2BSD   2048 16384    1 # /var
  f:             2.0G         31969664  4.2BSD   2048 16384    1 # /usr
  g:             1.0G         36163968  4.2BSD   2048 16384    1 # /usr/X11R6
  h:            10.0G         38261120  4.2BSD   2048 16384    1 # /usr/local
  i:             2.0G         59232640  4.2BSD   2048 16384    1 # /usr/src
  j:             2.0G         63426944  4.2BSD   2048 16384    1 # /usr/obj
  k:           300.0G         67621248  4.2BSD   4096 32768    1 # /home
Reply With Quote
  #4   (View Single Post)  
Old 6th June 2013
jggimi's Avatar
jggimi jggimi is online now
More noise than signal
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 3,708
Thanked 214 Times in 189 Posts
Default

You selected an automatic layout of the partitions. Your question in answered by the disklabel(8) man page, under "AUTOMATIC DISK ALLOCATION". There is a table that shows the partitions created and their minimum and maximum sizes.

Please review.
Reply With Quote
  #5   (View Single Post)  
Old 6th June 2013
daemonfowl daemonfowl is offline
bsdstudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: DaemonLand
Posts: 834
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thank you jggimi !! so .. /home can't take more than 300G (45% of disk space)
I must do a fresh install and manually set sizes.
Reply With Quote
  #6   (View Single Post)  
Old 6th June 2013
J65nko J65nko is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Budel - the Netherlands
Posts: 3,149
Thanked 182 Times in 149 Posts
Default

You don't have to do a fresh install at all. Just create an additional partition and call it /home2 or /extra
__________________
You don't need to be a genius to debug a pf.conf firewall ruleset, you just need the guts to run tcpdump
Reply With Quote
  #7   (View Single Post)  
Old 6th June 2013
jggimi's Avatar
jggimi jggimi is online now
More noise than signal
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 3,708
Thanked 214 Times in 189 Posts
Default

Even easier: use growfs(8). The /home partition appears to have empty space beyond it. If so, it is a perfect candidate for using growfs.
Reply With Quote
  #8   (View Single Post)  
Old 6th June 2013
jggimi's Avatar
jggimi jggimi is online now
More noise than signal
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 3,708
Thanked 214 Times in 189 Posts
Default

To be clear, the procedure would be to: 1) dismount /home, 2) increase the size of the partition using disklabel, 3) use growfs, 4) use fsck, 5) remount /home.
Reply With Quote
  #9   (View Single Post)  
Old 7th June 2013
daemonfowl daemonfowl is offline
bsdstudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: DaemonLand
Posts: 834
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks J65nko ! Thanks jggimi !
Unfortunately I was in a hurry so I had done the fresh install before I read your posts but I will consider them in a future case.

I have a question please :
Is it better to create partitions that are being written much often (/var , .. , /tmp) before creating the rest (/usr/obj /usr/X11R6 ... ) ? would there be any inconvenience not following some 'assumed order' ( / --> swap --> /tmp --> /var --> etc )
Does skipping /dev/wd0f has any consequence ? I mean no f slice .. just e for /var and g for /usr .. etc .. I am asking this because I saw that an automatic disk allocation would use f for /usr ..

Code:
Filesystem     Size    Used   Avail Capacity  Mounted on
/dev/wd0a     1008M    289M    669M    30%    /
/dev/wd0h      878G    2.4G    832G     0%    /home
/dev/wd0d      4.9G   34.0K    4.7G     0%    /tmp
/dev/wd0g     19.7G    5.4G   13.3G    29%    /usr
/dev/wd0e     19.7G    706M   18.0G     4%    /var
Reply With Quote
Old 7th June 2013
ocicat ocicat is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2,888
Thanked 190 Times in 160 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by daemonfowl View Post
Is it better to create partitions that are being written much often (/var , .. , /tmp) before creating the rest (/usr/obj /usr/X11R6 ... ) ? would there be any inconvenience not following some 'assumed order'
There was a time when ordering partitions had performance benefits -- earlier partitions would be located on faster portions of the disk platters, but hard drive manufacturers today are only providing an interface which is compatible to legacy BIOSes. What is going on internally is anyone's guess -- especially when it comes to terabyte drives. So, any benefits which may have existed from using any particular partition ordering in the past are not necessarily still realized today.

I tend to use a specific partition ordering out of habit, but this is a practice which has marginal, if any, value anymore.
Quote:
Does skipping /dev/wd0f has any consequence ?
No.
Reply With Quote
Old 7th June 2013
daemonfowl daemonfowl is offline
bsdstudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: DaemonLand
Posts: 834
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks for the information ocicat !

( for some reason -maybe thanks to FFS- OpenBSD seems so kind toward hard disks than windoze .. I used to replace disks much often when I used to use the latter )
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Study shows half of all websites use jQuery J65nko News 0 14th August 2012 06:03 AM
50 ISPs harbor half of all infected machines worldwide J65nko News 0 18th November 2010 07:55 PM
How - To install GNOME vile I install OpenBSD ? looop OpenBSD Installation and Upgrading 6 24th April 2010 08:58 PM
Installing FreeBSD on an OpenBSD disk Carpetsmoker FreeBSD Installation and Upgrading 1 26th January 2010 10:28 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content copyright © 2007-2010, the authors
Daemon image copyright ©1988, Marshall Kirk McKusick