DaemonForums  

Go Back   DaemonForums > OpenBSD > OpenBSD General

OpenBSD General Other questions regarding OpenBSD which do not fit in any of the categories below.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1   (View Single Post)  
Old 6th May 2015
pawkolor pawkolor is offline
New User
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 8
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default resolution screen

Hi I would ask about new Version Openbsd 5.7 .I cannt start Xorg -configure to create my file to stetting my resolution .May someone give my advice how I can change resolution on my screen.
My monitor screen is Dell and I use display port cable.
Reply With Quote
  #2   (View Single Post)  
Old 6th May 2015
shep shep is offline
Fsck Surgeon
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Dry and Dusty
Posts: 741
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

# Xorg -configure has not worked for a while. The good news is that it is usually not needed. Automatic configuration works for most platforms.
See Faq 11 - Configuring X.

If you are using Xfce4, Gnome3 or KDE4 there is usually a menu item to change the default configuration.

If you are using a simple window manager you can change the default settings as described in this
Arch Linix Xorg Wiki

Last edited by shep; 6th May 2015 at 04:27 PM. Reason: Added Arch wiki link
Reply With Quote
  #3   (View Single Post)  
Old 6th May 2015
pawkolor pawkolor is offline
New User
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 8
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

But I do not see in this faq any sentences which say my how and where I can change my resolution for 1024x768

Any line not say about screen resolution .

I use KDE
Reply With Quote
  #4   (View Single Post)  
Old 6th May 2015
jggimi's Avatar
jggimi jggimi is online now
More noise than signal
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 4,386
Thanked 214 Times in 189 Posts
Default

Hello, and welcome!

If X.Org automatic configuration is not working for you, you will need to configure /etc/X11/xorg.conf manually. This link shows an example file with two forced resolutions: 1024x768 and 800x600.

You will need to review your /var/log/Xorg.0.log file to determine which video card and monitor are discovered and used.

You will need to adjust the HorizSync and VertRefresh values to match your monitor's technical specifications.
Reply With Quote
  #5   (View Single Post)  
Old 6th May 2015
shep shep is offline
Fsck Surgeon
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Dry and Dusty
Posts: 741
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

The instructions in the Arch Wiki will work with any Desktop environment or Window manager.
It has been years since I used KDE but a quick search says System Settings -> Display and Monitor. See this link.
Reply With Quote
  #6   (View Single Post)  
Old 6th May 2015
pawkolor pawkolor is offline
New User
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 8
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

It good question how to properly configure /etc/X11/xorg.conf
This file not exist .I suppose.Openbsd use from /root this file under
Shep .KDE 4.14.3 not works as root just crash.Only start as normal user KDE works good.I can't change resolution
===========================================
Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "X.org Configured"
Screen 0 "Screen0" 0 0
Screen 1 "Screen1" RightOf "Screen0"
InputDevice "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
InputDevice "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
EndSection

Section "Files"
ModulePath "/usr/X11R6/lib/modules"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/misc/"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/TTF/"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/OTF/"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/Type1/"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/100dpi/"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/75dpi/"
EndSection

Section "Module"
Load "glx"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Keyboard0"
Driver "kbd"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Mouse0"
Driver "mouse"
Option "Protocol" "wsmouse"
Option "Device" "/dev/wsmouse"
Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5 6 7"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor0"
VendorName "Monitor Vendor"
ModelName "Monitor Model"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor1"
VendorName "Monitor Vendor"
ModelName "Monitor Model"
EndSection

Section "Device"
### Available Driver options are:-
### Values: <i>: integer, <f>: float, <bool>: "True"/"False",
### <string>: "String", <freq>: "<f> Hz/kHz/MHz",
### <percent>: "<f>%"
### [arg]: arg optional
#Option "NoAccel" # [<bool>]
#Option "AccelMethod" # <str>
#Option "Backlight" # <str>
#Option "DRI" # <str>
#Option "ColorKey" # <i>
#Option "VideoKey" # <i>
#Option "Tiling" # [<bool>]
#Option "LinearFramebuffer" # [<bool>]
#Option "VSync" # [<bool>]
#Option "PageFlip" # [<bool>]
#Option "SwapbuffersWait" # [<bool>]
#Option "TripleBuffer" # [<bool>]
#Option "XvPreferOverlay" # [<bool>]
#Option "HotPlug" # [<bool>]
#Option "ReprobeOutputs" # [<bool>]
#Option "XvMC" # [<bool>]
#Option "ZaphodHeads" # <str>
#Option "VirtualHeads" # <i>
#Option "TearFree" # [<bool>]
#Option "PerCrtcPixmaps" # [<bool>]
#Option "FallbackDebug" # [<bool>]
#Option "DebugFlushBatches" # [<bool>]
#Option "DebugFlushCaches" # [<bool>]
#Option "DebugWait" # [<bool>]
#Option "BufferCache" # [<bool>]
Identifier "Card0"
Driver "intel"
BusID "PCI:0:2:0"
EndSection

Section "Device"
### Available Driver options are:-
### Values: <i>: integer, <f>: float, <bool>: "True"/"False",
### <string>: "String", <freq>: "<f> Hz/kHz/MHz",
### <percent>: "<f>%"
### [arg]: arg optional
#Option "NoAccel" # [<bool>]
#Option "SWcursor" # [<bool>]
#Option "EnablePageFlip" # [<bool>]
#Option "ColorTiling" # [<bool>]
#Option "ColorTiling2D" # [<bool>]
#Option "RenderAccel" # [<bool>]
#Option "SubPixelOrder" # [<str>]
#Option "EXAVSync" # [<bool>]
#Option "EXAPixmaps" # [<bool>]
#Option "ZaphodHeads" # <str>
#Option "EnablePageFlip" # [<bool>]
#Option "SwapbuffersWait" # [<bool>]
Identifier "Card1"
Driver "radeon"
BusID "PCI:1:0:0"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Card0"
Monitor "Monitor0"
SubSection "Display"
Viewport 0 0
Depth 1
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Viewport 0 0
Depth 4
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Viewport 0 0
Depth 8
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Viewport 0 0
Depth 15
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Viewport 0 0
Depth 16
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Viewport 0 0
Depth 24
EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen1"
Device "Card1"
Monitor "Monitor1"
SubSection "Display"
Viewport 0 0
Depth 1
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Viewport 0 0
Depth 4
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Viewport 0 0
Depth 8
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Viewport 0 0
Depth 15
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Viewport 0 0
Depth 16
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Viewport 0 0
Depth 24
EndSubSection
EndSection
Reply With Quote
  #7   (View Single Post)  
Old 6th May 2015
shep shep is offline
Fsck Surgeon
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Dry and Dusty
Posts: 741
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Your configuration has video settings for both intel (Card0) and radeon (Card1). This could either mean you have hybrid video, usually found in laptops, or a dual monitor setup. To help you we are going to need to know which.

As a warning, OpenBSD does not support hybrid video and those with hybrid video who are successful setting up xorg usually end up disabling one of the video chips in the bios.
Reply With Quote
  #8   (View Single Post)  
Old 6th May 2015
LeFrettchen's Avatar
LeFrettchen LeFrettchen is offline
Marveled user
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bronvaux, France
Posts: 152
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shep View Post
As a warning, OpenBSD does not support hybrid video and those with hybrid video who are successful setting up xorg usually end up disabling one of the video chips in the bios.
Right.
On my ThinkPad, the BIOS is really explicit : the hybrid feature is designed for Windows, don't expect anything with another OS.
__________________
In case of emergency
Reply With Quote
  #9   (View Single Post)  
Old 6th May 2015
pawkolor pawkolor is offline
New User
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 8
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

My display cable is hook into graphics card .I have only 1 slot to put my display cable.
Mother board is ASRock Z77 processor i7 Intel .

Intel has cards processor
Graphic card here is slot to display.

When I start Openbsd I see
radeondro0
wsdisplay0 screen 1-5

I use normal computer not laptops.
Reply With Quote
Old 6th May 2015
LeFrettchen's Avatar
LeFrettchen LeFrettchen is offline
Marveled user
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bronvaux, France
Posts: 152
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pawkolor View Post
I use normal computer not laptops.
Anyway, check your BIOS settings and see if you can choose one video chip or another, should be a really good solution if not the only one...
__________________
In case of emergency
Reply With Quote
Old 6th May 2015
Oko's Avatar
Oko Oko is offline
Rc.conf Instructor
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Kosovo, Serbia
Posts: 1,007
Thanked 36 Times in 32 Posts
Default

You don't need Xorg -configure at all as xorg.conf file is not needed in most cases on i386/amd64 hardware. Just use xrandr from the command line to find something you like better. Giving little bit more info abut your video card and monitor will help us too.
Reply With Quote
Old 7th May 2015
shep shep is offline
Fsck Surgeon
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Dry and Dusty
Posts: 741
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pawkolor View Post
It good question how to properly configure /etc/X11/xorg.conf
This file not exist .I suppose.Openbsd use from /root this file under
Shep .KDE 4.14.3 not works as root just crash.Only start as normal user KDE works good.I can't change resolution
===========================================
Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "X.org Configured"
Screen 0 "Screen0" 0 0
Screen 1 "Screen1" RightOf "Screen0"
InputDevice "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
InputDevice "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
EndSection
On review, it looks like the xorg.conf file is for a dual monitor system. My guess is that either your motherboard has a video chip or that you are using a cup/gpu combination. It is likely that if you either

Remove the radeon card and connect the monitor to the motherboard
or
Disable the intel/choose the PCIe-16 slot (where the radeon card is) in the bios


That Xorg will configure itself correctly and you will be able to change resolution as a user using the KDE system tools.
Reply With Quote
Old 7th May 2015
pawkolor pawkolor is offline
New User
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 8
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

ok again
KDE on root account not works .I use KDE on common user and works .
####################################
Processor core i7 2700k 3.50 GHZ LGA 1155
Graphic card
Radeon HD6850 /PCI-E
Screen DELL 19 "
##############################How it change ############
# xrandr
Screen 0: minimum 320 x 200, current 1280 x 1024, maximum 16384 x 16384
DisplayPort-0 connected 1280x1024+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 376mm x 301mm
1280x1024 60.02*+ 75.02
1152x864 75.00
1024x768 75.08 60.00
800x600 75.00 60.32
640x480 75.00 60.00
720x400 70.08
HDMI-0 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
DVI-0 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
DVI-1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
##################################################
My computer is 5 m from my screen And I have 5 m display cable .If I removed my Graphic card I have buy different cable .It is not good idea .
Reply With Quote
Old 7th May 2015
pawkolor pawkolor is offline
New User
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 8
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

ok again
KDE on root account not works .I use KDE on common user and works .
####################################
Processor core i7 2700k 3.50 GHZ LGA 1155
Graphic card
Radeon HD6850 /PCI-E
Screen DELL 19 "
##############################How it change ############
# xrandr
Screen 0: minimum 320 x 200, current 1280 x 1024, maximum 16384 x 16384
DisplayPort-0 connected 1280x1024+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 376mm x 301mm
1280x1024 60.02*+ 75.02
1152x864 75.00
1024x768 75.08 60.00
800x600 75.00 60.32
640x480 75.00 60.00
720x400 70.08
HDMI-0 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
DVI-0 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
DVI-1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
##################################################
My computer is 5 m from my screen And I have 5 m display cable .If I removed my Graphic card I have buy different cable .It is not good idea .[/QUOTE]
Reply With Quote
Old 7th May 2015
shep shep is offline
Fsck Surgeon
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Dry and Dusty
Posts: 741
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

I thought I suggested 2 options but something may have been lost in translation. The second option was to disable intel video in your BIOS. Can you disable intel video in your BIOS?
Reply With Quote
Old 7th May 2015
pawkolor pawkolor is offline
New User
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 8
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I do not know what is that option in BIOS.
Reply With Quote
Old 7th May 2015
shep shep is offline
Fsck Surgeon
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Dry and Dusty
Posts: 741
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pawkolor View Post
I do not know what is that option in BIOS.
Without knowing the manufacturer and model of your motherboard, no one can tell you.

Another option is to use <UKC> to remove inteldrm and the video driver from the kernel.
The directions are here.

The final option would be to try this xorg.conf. I renamed the radeon driver as Card0, removed the intel section and the second monitor and screen.
Attached Files
File Type: conf xorg.conf (1.9 KB, 6 views)
Reply With Quote
Old 7th May 2015
pawkolor pawkolor is offline
New User
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 8
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks you for sacrifice time for my problems.This file not works startkde4 not works .
But I noticed I'm able to change resolution when kde4 works .It means I badly change setting .But works now pretty good. Look my screen.
Attached Images
File Type: png snapshot1.png (102.9 KB, 12 views)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
LCD Screen Resolution mgh21 General Hardware 3 3rd September 2011 07:23 PM
Resolution problem.. PCBSD3000 FreeBSD General 5 13th April 2009 07:56 PM
resolution too high!!! =| ? what? seadog109 Other BSD and UNIX/UNIX-like 19 18th October 2008 04:25 AM
Help with screen resolution for Window Maker bsdforlife FreeBSD General 2 25th August 2008 01:49 PM
Wrong screen resolution, font size etc. PatrickBaer FreeBSD General 10 14th May 2008 10:00 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content copyright © 2007-2010, the authors
Daemon image copyright ©1988, Marshall Kirk McKusick