DaemonForums  

Go Back   DaemonForums > FreeBSD > FreeBSD General

FreeBSD General Other questions regarding FreeBSD which do not fit in any of the categories below.

View Poll Results: Which Method You Use to Mount Devices/Filesystems?
amd (automounter from base system) 3 12.00%
hal (hardware abstraction layer) 5 20.00%
none (mount everything manually) 14 56.00%
other (specify) 3 12.00%
Voters: 25. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1   (View Single Post)  
Old 11th June 2008
vermaden's Avatar
vermaden vermaden is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: pl_PL.lodz
Posts: 1,052
Thanked 118 Times in 93 Posts
Default Automatic Mount for Devices/Filesystems

Do you use automatic mount for filesystems?
__________________
religions, worst damnation of mankind
"If 386BSD had been available when I started on Linux, Linux would probably never had happened." Linus Torvalds

Linux is not UNIX! Face it! It is not an insult. It is fact: GNU is a recursive acronym for “GNU's Not UNIX”.
vermaden's: links resources deviantart spreadbsd
Reply With Quote
  #2   (View Single Post)  
Old 11th June 2008
hydra's Avatar
hydra hydra is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Slovakia (Europe)
Posts: 41
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Nope, I mount everything by hand...
Reply With Quote
  #3   (View Single Post)  
Old 11th June 2008
lvlamb's Avatar
lvlamb lvlamb is offline
Real Name: Louis V. Lambrecht
Spam Deminer
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: .be
Posts: 221
Thanked 25 Times in 24 Posts
Default

Don't use appliances for things that better be done by hand.

Fstab kept to a minimum,
using groups and sudo to run some wrappers.

Starting to see conflicts with gdm, kdm, PolicyKit and other "user friendly" functionality.
__________________
da more I know I know I know nuttin'
Reply With Quote
  #4   (View Single Post)  
Old 11th June 2008
mtx's Avatar
mtx mtx is offline
Real Name: Valentin Bud
Fdisk Soldier
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: RO/TM
Posts: 79
Thanked 5 Times in 3 Posts
Default

i don't mount/umount devices that often so i do it by hand.

/v
__________________
Stop! think! ... the problem is somewhere between the monitor and chair...
"First they ignore you, then they laugh at you, then they fight you, then you win." Gandhi
links: spreadbsd syk
Reply With Quote
  #5   (View Single Post)  
Old 11th June 2008
ephemera's Avatar
ephemera ephemera is offline
Knuth's homeboy
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 537
Thanked 49 Times in 43 Posts
Default

i voted for hal.
i don't know how it works but usb devices get mounted automagically and a file browser pops up, i find that very convenient.
Reply With Quote
  #6   (View Single Post)  
Old 11th June 2008
lvlamb's Avatar
lvlamb lvlamb is offline
Real Name: Louis V. Lambrecht
Spam Deminer
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: .be
Posts: 221
Thanked 25 Times in 24 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ephemera View Post
... i don't know how it works ...
If it works, why fix it?
or
If you don't know, don't use.
__________________
da more I know I know I know nuttin'
Reply With Quote
  #7   (View Single Post)  
Old 11th June 2008
harisman's Avatar
harisman harisman is offline
Fdisk Soldier
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Hellas (Greece)
Posts: 66
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
Default

I use amd and I am very satisfied.

I have lots of different mount points (usb cdroms, usb disks, nfs mounts,etc..) and auto-mounting these sources it is invaluable for my workstation.
Reply With Quote
  #8   (View Single Post)  
Old 11th June 2008
TerryP's Avatar
TerryP TerryP is offline
Arp Constable
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USofA
Posts: 1,547
Thanked 112 Times in 104 Posts
Default

other -> /etc/fstab


Sorry but you asked <_<


I normally have 3 *BSD installs, only two are maintained the other is for testing things.


The headless OpenBSD machine. On that all is done via fstab and /sbin/mount and /sbin/umount if I need to modify things later. Last time that happened was formating a second hard drive and transitioning file systems over ;-)


My laptop is running PC-BSD, so it has HAL and friends running by default. But since I use the install largely as standard FreeBSD setup once installed, all file systems are usually mounted via /etc/fstab.

Any thing that is not important is usually mounted over the network on demand -- I very rarely use removable media.


When I do, I normally use mount.
__________________
My Journal

Thou shalt check the array bounds of all strings (indeed, all arrays), for surely where thou typest ``foo'' someone someday shall type ``supercalifragilisticexpialidocious''.
Reply With Quote
  #9   (View Single Post)  
Old 11th June 2008
vermaden's Avatar
vermaden vermaden is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: pl_PL.lodz
Posts: 1,052
Thanked 118 Times in 93 Posts
Default

I usually used sudo mount ... binded into fbpanel:
http://box-look.org/content/show.php?content=68023

I also have submenu in fluxbox menu for mounting/unmounting devices.

... and often mount from # ~ _
__________________
religions, worst damnation of mankind
"If 386BSD had been available when I started on Linux, Linux would probably never had happened." Linus Torvalds

Linux is not UNIX! Face it! It is not an insult. It is fact: GNU is a recursive acronym for “GNU's Not UNIX”.
vermaden's: links resources deviantart spreadbsd
Reply With Quote
Old 12th June 2008
richardpl richardpl is offline
Spam Deminer
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Croatia
Posts: 284
Thanked 25 Times in 24 Posts
Default

I prefer manual mounts all the time, because computers still cant guess what I want to do with attached device(s). Automounters are dump, and various menus/dialogs/buttons will never guess what I really want to do.

Current GUIs are crap, except some really outstanding pieces of software ....
Reply With Quote
Old 12th June 2008
BSDKaffee's Avatar
BSDKaffee BSDKaffee is offline
Real Name: Jason Hale
Coffee Addict
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Wintersville, Ohio
Posts: 212
Thanked 36 Times in 34 Posts
Default

I use HAL through KDE. It's nice being able to pop in a CD and have it mount then being able to push the eject button and have it unmount and pop out. Mounting CDs manually was one of the few things that really irked me about FreeBSD when I first started using it (coming from a Windows background). I have a USB harddrive that I use with it too and it works just fine.
Reply With Quote
Old 12th June 2008
vermaden's Avatar
vermaden vermaden is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: pl_PL.lodz
Posts: 1,052
Thanked 118 Times in 93 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BSDKaffee View Post
I use HAL through KDE.
I saw your HAL howto here, nice job mate.
__________________
religions, worst damnation of mankind
"If 386BSD had been available when I started on Linux, Linux would probably never had happened." Linus Torvalds

Linux is not UNIX! Face it! It is not an insult. It is fact: GNU is a recursive acronym for “GNU's Not UNIX”.
vermaden's: links resources deviantart spreadbsd
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
tmux disable automatic resize Carpetsmoker General software and network 7 25th June 2009 10:54 PM
Large MFS filesystems jggimi Guides 2 26th October 2008 05:17 PM
Need help with mounting filesystems Mr-Biscuit FreeBSD General 2 11th September 2008 08:29 AM
webmin filesystems error smooth187 FreeBSD General 1 29th July 2008 05:29 PM
Automounting USB devices with HAL/KDE vinegaroon FreeBSD General 1 13th June 2008 02:16 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content copyright © 2007-2010, the authors
Daemon image copyright ©1988, Marshall Kirk McKusick