DaemonForums  

Go Back   DaemonForums > FreeBSD > FreeBSD General

FreeBSD General Other questions regarding FreeBSD which do not fit in any of the categories below.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1   (View Single Post)  
Old 11th June 2008
tz24 tz24 is offline
New User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 8
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Unhappy FreeBSD's Ifconfig for WEP

I am new to BSD and I would like very much to run, use, and get good with FreeBSD as well as OpenBSD. But my problem is connecting to the internet!!! My problem is kinda like this..... I cant fully configure my wireless card to connect to the internet... When I connect in Linux... I just type in the WEP key and Im connected!! But I cant do it with ifconfig when using BSD!!! I have tried "ifconfig ral0 up", "Ifconfig ral0 nwid xxxxxxx nwkey xxxxxxxx" and got nothing!!! Wut am I not doing or doing wrong!!???

If there is a post thats for this I welcome it, but if it does not help I will let you know...

Thanks!!!

TZ
Reply With Quote
  #2   (View Single Post)  
Old 11th June 2008
scottro's Avatar
scottro scottro is offline
Real Name: Scott Robbins
Spam Deminer
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 302
Thanked 31 Times in 25 Posts
Default

In most cases, you'll find the information if you do man <your card>. For example, with the Intel 2100 or whatever it was, I would do man ipw (I think--I don't have that machine anymore) and it would give the information.

For example, here is an entry from the ipw man page.

Join a specific BSS network with 40-bit WEP encryption:

ifconfig ipw0 inet 192.168.0.20 netmask 0xffffff00 ssid my_net \
wepmode on wepkey 0x1234567890 weptxkey 1

So, there's your syntax.
Youve probably realized it already, but rather than the generic eth0 wlan0, FreeBSD will use something based on the particular card, such as fxp0, xl0, etc.

Yup, I just checked man ral and it has several examples in there too.

Were you using one of the Linux GUI tools, such as NetworkManager? It is a bit different, (although perhaps Gnome or KDE in FreeBSD also has such tools, I don't know.)

It's always good to learn the command line way to do it though. For example, in Fedora, NetworkManager frequently gets broken.
Reply With Quote
  #3   (View Single Post)  
Old 11th June 2008
davidgurvich davidgurvich is offline
Fdisk Soldier
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 57
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

I recommend using wpa_supplicant for wep and roaming as well as wpa. Simply create your /etc/wpa_supplicant.conf file and put ifconfig_ral0="WPA DHCP" in /etc/rc.conf. Here's a basic one.
Quote:
# allow frontend to be used by all in 'wheel' group
ctrl_interface=/var/run/wpa_supplicant
ctrl_interface_group=wheel
ap_scan=1

# Access any available open network -- roaming
network={
key_mgmt=NONE
}
# straight from man wpa_supplicant.conf for wep
network={
ssid="example"
scan_ssid=1
key_mgmt=NONE
wep_tx_keyidx=0
wep_key0=42FEEDDEAFBABEDEAFBEEFAA55
}
If you desperately need a gui for your wireless needs, install sysutils/desktopbsd-tools. One of the tools is a kde tray applet for wired, wep, or open networks. For WPA, you must set up your network in wpa_supplicant.conf. There is a proposal for SoC to port NetworkManager to FreeBSD, but hal has issues.
Reply With Quote
  #4   (View Single Post)  
Old 11th June 2008
mish's Avatar
mish mish is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Makati City, Philippines
Posts: 25
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

If there's no problem with your AP, or with your WEP key (length, format, etc), or other matters (confirm that other machines can associate with the AP and go out onto the net), then connecting a client via a single line in /etc/rc.conf should be straightforward:

On a client machine running FreeBSD 7.0-RELEASE-p1, associated with an OpenBSD 4.3-current AP handing out IP addreses via DHCP:
Code:
ifconfig_ral0="ssid <your SSID here> wepmode on wepkey <your WEP key here> weptxkey 1 DHCP"
ifconfig output:
Code:
[root@blah ~]# ifconfig ral0
ral0: flags=8843<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 1500
        ether 00:16:b6:9c:55:41
        inet 172.16.0.4 netmask 0xffffff00 broadcast 172.16.0.255
        media: IEEE 802.11 Wireless Ethernet autoselect (OFDM/54Mbps)
        status: associated
        ssid xxxxxxxxxxxx channel 1 (2412 Mhz 11g) bssid 00:16:b6:9c:58:ba
        authmode OPEN privacy ON deftxkey 1 wepkey 1:104-bit txpower 50
        bmiss 7 scanvalid 60 bgscan bgscanintvl 300 bgscanidle 250
        roam:rssi11g 7 roam:rate11g 5 protmode CTS
[root@blah ~]#
Reply With Quote
  #5   (View Single Post)  
Old 11th June 2008
phoenix's Avatar
phoenix phoenix is offline
Risen from the ashes
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 699
Thanked 90 Times in 81 Posts
Default

When in doubt, consult the Handbook.
__________________
Freddie

Help for FreeBSD: Handbook, FAQ, man pages, mailing lists.
Reply With Quote
  #6   (View Single Post)  
Old 11th June 2008
tz24 tz24 is offline
New User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 8
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

ok...I havent tryed "weptxkey 1 DHCP", I will try that, and I get it I will let you all know.. thanks!! Also, I wanted to know the same for OpenBSD because its "ifconfig" is kinda set up different.... any way... I wonder if this will connect even with a 64/128-bit ASCII wep key?
Reply With Quote
  #7   (View Single Post)  
Old 11th June 2008
tz24 tz24 is offline
New User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 8
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

yeah, I wanna try ifconfig first though...
Reply With Quote
  #8   (View Single Post)  
Old 12th June 2008
mish's Avatar
mish mish is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Makati City, Philippines
Posts: 25
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tz24 View Post
I wonder if this will connect even with a 64/128-bit ASCII wep key?
The ral driver can handle both 64 and 104-bit WEP keys. As always, the man page is your friend:

ral(4)

On an OpenBSD client, you'd do:
Quote:
up media autoselect mode 11g chan 1 nwid <Your SSID> nwkey <Your hex or ascii key here>
dhcp NONE NONE NONE
ral(4)

Last edited by mish; 12th June 2008 at 01:15 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #9   (View Single Post)  
Old 12th June 2008
tz24 tz24 is offline
New User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 8
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

so I put "\dhcp NONE NONE NONE" on the same line as the ifconfig command?
Reply With Quote
Old 12th June 2008
mish's Avatar
mish mish is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Makati City, Philippines
Posts: 25
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

No. That was a typo. You need two lines.
Reply With Quote
Old 12th June 2008
tz24 tz24 is offline
New User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 8
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

ok thanks!!! .... do you think its better to install both with the FTP option?? or with my situation, is that impossible?
Reply With Quote
Old 12th June 2008
tz24 tz24 is offline
New User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 8
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I tried it on BSD Anywhere, and it was sayin "active", but I couldnt connect to a site on firefox!!! please help!!!
Reply With Quote
Old 12th June 2008
mish's Avatar
mish mish is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Makati City, Philippines
Posts: 25
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tz24 View Post
ok thanks!!! .... do you think its better to install both with the FTP option?? or with my situation, is that impossible?
I don't understand what this means.


Quote:
Originally Posted by tz24 View Post
I tried it on BSD Anywhere, and it was sayin "active", but I couldnt connect to a site on firefox!!! please help!!!
Your first test should be to find out if you can ping any host on your network. Try to ping your router, or another host on your network, before trying to ping an internet host.

Also, posting the output of ifconfig ral0 and netstat -rn will help.
Reply With Quote
Old 12th June 2008
tz24 tz24 is offline
New User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 8
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

when you start the FreeBSD installation, it asks if you want to install from the ftp site, or cd/dvd. it has other options... but that was what I was talkin bout...
Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2008
mish's Avatar
mish mish is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Makati City, Philippines
Posts: 25
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

It will depend on how fast your connection to the net is. All the install methods are fine, but most users here will probably chime in and say you'd better get the release .iso files.

In any case, what you're asking should be the topic of a separate, new thread, not this one. Or you can search the forums and look for one that's close to what you're asking.
Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2008
tz24 tz24 is offline
New User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 8
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

ok... so which bsd would be best if I wanted to do stuff like surf the net, play with Beryl, use Fluxbox, and stuff like that? just asking
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ifconfig: SIOCAIFADDR: File exists zomo OpenBSD General 7 23rd December 2008 10:20 PM
need some basic help on ifconfig daemon-dd FreeBSD General 4 29th July 2008 03:21 PM
hard lock on ifconfig wi0 up reuteler OpenBSD General 11 25th May 2008 06:22 PM
ifconfig problem ichigo OpenBSD General 3 20th May 2008 10:59 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content copyright © 2007-2010, the authors
Daemon image copyright ©1988, Marshall Kirk McKusick