DaemonForums  

Go Back   DaemonForums > FreeBSD > FreeBSD Ports and Packages

FreeBSD Ports and Packages Installation and upgrading of ports and packages on FreeBSD.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1   (View Single Post)  
Old 13th May 2008
ccc ccc is offline
Shell Scout
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 97
Thanked 0 Times in 1 Post
Default checking if UIC has KDE plugins available...

hi

if I try to install after ports tree update kde-lite from ports on my freeBSD 7.0 (upgrade from 6.3) then I get the following message:
Code:
checking if UIC has KDE plugins available...
and the installation will be stopped.
knows someone howto solve this problem ?
Reply With Quote
  #2   (View Single Post)  
Old 13th May 2008
stukov's Avatar
stukov stukov is offline
Real Name: Jean-Michel Philippon-Nadeau
Package Pilot
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Sherbrooke, Qc, Canada
Posts: 167
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

Might help you out:

http://mail.kde.org/pipermail/kde-fr...ne/000933.html
__________________
"Any intelligent fool can make things bigger, more complex, and more violent. It takes a touch of genius -- and a lot of courage -- to move in the opposite direction."
Reply With Quote
  #3   (View Single Post)  
Old 13th May 2008
ccc ccc is offline
Shell Scout
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 97
Thanked 0 Times in 1 Post
Default

thanks, I tried to update qmake and qt33, but still doesn't help.

any other idea ?
Reply With Quote
  #4   (View Single Post)  
Old 20th May 2008
ccc ccc is offline
Shell Scout
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 97
Thanked 0 Times in 1 Post
Default

still cannot find any solution to solve this problem.
Reply With Quote
  #5   (View Single Post)  
Old 5th June 2008
ccc ccc is offline
Shell Scout
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 97
Thanked 0 Times in 1 Post
Default

a very strange problem...
Reply With Quote
  #6   (View Single Post)  
Old 5th June 2008
Carpetsmoker's Avatar
Carpetsmoker Carpetsmoker is offline
Real Name: Martin
Old man from scene 24
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Eindhoven, Netherlands
Posts: 2,068
Thanked 198 Times in 156 Posts
Default

Did you try emailing the kde-lite maintainer?
__________________
UNIX was not designed to stop you from doing stupid things, because that would also stop you from doing clever things.
Reply With Quote
  #7   (View Single Post)  
Old 5th June 2008
BSDKaffee's Avatar
BSDKaffee BSDKaffee is offline
Real Name: Jason Hale
Coffee Addict
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Wintersville, Ohio
Posts: 212
Thanked 36 Times in 34 Posts
Default

kde-lite is nothing more than a metaport that installs other KDE ports. It is not a watered down or lightweight version of KDE.

My favorite way to install KDE is to forget about the metaports and go directly for the main ports themselves.

First make sure your ports tree is up-to-date.
Then update the ports you already have installed so that the KDE ports have up-to-date dependencies.
Then install x11/kdelibs3
Then install x11/kdebase3

After kdebase is installed, you will at least have a basic KDE desktop up and running. Then you can install whatever other KDE ports you want at your leisure. Hasn't failed me yet.
Reply With Quote
  #8   (View Single Post)  
Old 5th June 2008
ccc ccc is offline
Shell Scout
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 97
Thanked 0 Times in 1 Post
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Carpetsmoker View Post
Did you try emailing the kde-lite maintainer?
yep, I've reported this BUG, but still no solution.
Reply With Quote
  #9   (View Single Post)  
Old 6th June 2008
ccc ccc is offline
Shell Scout
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 97
Thanked 0 Times in 1 Post
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BSDKaffee View Post
kde-lite is nothing more than a metaport that installs other KDE ports. It is not a watered down or lightweight version of KDE.

My favorite way to install KDE is to forget about the metaports and go directly for the main ports themselves.

First make sure your ports tree is up-to-date.
Then update the ports you already have installed so that the KDE ports have up-to-date dependencies.
Then install x11/kdelibs3
Then install x11/kdebase3

After kdebase is installed, you will at least have a basic KDE desktop up and running. Then you can install whatever other KDE ports you want at your leisure. Hasn't failed me yet.
thx, but if I try:
Code:
# portupgrade -fRr x11/kdelibs3
then I get the following:
Code:
/usr/local/bin/perl -pe "s,tr2i18n( \"\" ),QString::null,g" kshortcutdialog_simple.cpp.temp | /usr/local/bin/perl -pe "s,tr2i18n( \"\"\, \"\" ),QString::null,g" | /usr/local/bin/perl -pe "s,image([0-9][0-9]*)_data,img\$1_kshortcutdialog_simple,g" | /usr/local/bin/perl -pe "s,: QWizard\(,: KWizard(,g" >> kshortcutdialog_simple.cpp ;\
        rm -f kshortcutdialog_simple.cpp.temp ;\
        if test "$ret" = 0; then echo '#include "kshortcutdialog_simple.moc"' >> kshortcutdialog_simple.cpp; else rm -f kshortcutdia
Mutex unlock failure: Operation not permitted
and the installation hangs with this message.
Reply With Quote
Old 11th June 2008
BSDKaffee's Avatar
BSDKaffee BSDKaffee is offline
Real Name: Jason Hale
Coffee Addict
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Wintersville, Ohio
Posts: 212
Thanked 36 Times in 34 Posts
Default

@ccc

Please post the output of:
$ ls -l /lib/libthr* /usr/lib/libpthr*

It looks like you have a threading library issue that might have happend when you upgrade to 7.0.
Reply With Quote
Old 11th June 2008
ccc ccc is offline
Shell Scout
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 97
Thanked 0 Times in 1 Post
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BSDKaffee View Post
@ccc

Please post the output of:
$ ls -l /lib/libthr* /usr/lib/libpthr*

It looks like you have a threading library issue that might have happend when you upgrade to 7.0.
Code:
# ls -l /lib/libthr* /usr/lib/libpthr*
-r--r--r--  1 root  <<<<<<< current   66928 Mar 10 20:37 /lib/libthr.so.3
lrwxr-xr-x  1 root  <<<<<<< current       8 Mar 10 20:38 /usr/lib/libpthread.a -> libthr.a
Reply With Quote
Old 12th June 2008
BSDKaffee's Avatar
BSDKaffee BSDKaffee is offline
Real Name: Jason Hale
Coffee Addict
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Wintersville, Ohio
Posts: 212
Thanked 36 Times in 34 Posts
Default

You don't have a symlink for libpthread.so.
Code:
# cd /usr/lib
# ln -sf /lib/libthr.so.3 libthr.so
# ln -sf libthr.so libpthread.so
The safest thing to do after that would be to rebuild all of your ports.

Last edited by BSDKaffee; 12th June 2008 at 08:17 PM. Reason: fix symlink
Reply With Quote
Old 12th June 2008
ccc ccc is offline
Shell Scout
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 97
Thanked 0 Times in 1 Post
Default

thanks a lot, but how is the best way to rebuild all of ports ?
you mean:
Code:
# portupgrade -af

Last edited by ccc; 12th June 2008 at 12:05 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old 12th June 2008
BSDKaffee's Avatar
BSDKaffee BSDKaffee is offline
Real Name: Jason Hale
Coffee Addict
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Wintersville, Ohio
Posts: 212
Thanked 36 Times in 34 Posts
Default

It depends on how many ports and which ports are already installed. But since you are upgrading to 7.0 from 6.3, probably the best thing to do is deinstall as many ports as possible, if not all, then start fresh. You probably would have had to do this anyway because of the gettext update, so it is not much of a loss.

I wouldn't recommend portupgrade -af because portupgrade itself and its dependencies would need updated first. Plus if any port fails to build, you will have trouble figuring out where it failed and where to pickup where it left off.


I made a mistake in the simlink I gave you before. Do this instead:
Code:
# cd /usr/lib
# ln -sf /lib/libthr.so.3 libthr.so
# ln -sf libthr.so libpthread.so

Last edited by BSDKaffee; 12th June 2008 at 08:16 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old 14th June 2008
ccc ccc is offline
Shell Scout
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 97
Thanked 0 Times in 1 Post
Default

thx a lot !

it helps, now I can install kde-lite without problems.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
checking upgrade worked? carpman FreeBSD Installation and Upgrading 2 6th February 2009 11:37 PM
Upgrading firefox to firefox 3 -keeping plugins+bookmarks kasse FreeBSD Ports and Packages 11 5th July 2008 01:34 PM
jdk16 plugins on FreeBSD 7 AMD64 ninjatux FreeBSD General 0 26th June 2008 07:55 PM
WARNING: Vulnerability database out of date, checking anyway mfaridi FreeBSD Security 9 8th May 2008 06:13 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content copyright © 2007-2010, the authors
Daemon image copyright ©1988, Marshall Kirk McKusick