DaemonForums  

Go Back   DaemonForums > Miscellaneous > General Hardware

General Hardware General hardware related questions.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1   (View Single Post)  
Old 19th January 2015
IdOp's Avatar
IdOp IdOp is offline
Too dumb for a smartphone
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: twisting on the daemon's fork(2)
Posts: 756
Default Gigabit ethernet usage at home

Gigabit ethernet has been around for a long time now, yet I still see a lot of retail stuff at the "fast" 100 Mbps level. A couple of recent threads on this forum have mentioned gigabit ethernet in passing.

I am just curious about the adoption rate of gigabit ethernet in "home networks". For those of you who may be using ethernet as part of a home network, do you use gigabit ethernet (or faster) and if so to what extent? If not, why not?

Thanks to any forum members who may wish to respond.

In my case, no, I'm not using it. I only have one ethernet adapter (an sk(4) built into a motherboard) that supports it, and don't feel it's anywhere close to worth spending money on more supporting hardware, for my usage.
Reply With Quote
  #2   (View Single Post)  
Old 19th January 2015
jggimi's Avatar
jggimi jggimi is offline
More noise than signal
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 5,893
Default

I have several devices which support it (switch, NICs) but do not use it. My cabling is all Category 5, and I don't have an application that can exploit the bandwidth.

$DAYJOB uses it extensively.
Reply With Quote
  #3   (View Single Post)  
Old 19th January 2015
roddierod's Avatar
roddierod roddierod is offline
Real Name: Rod Person
VPN Cryptographer
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Pittsburgh, Pa
Posts: 407
Default

I have a Intel gigabit nic in my workstation (replaced my broadcom on board nic because it was unstable at gigabit speeds under FreeBSD 10.1) it was under $25 dollars. Have cat6 cable connecting it to my routers gigabit port. Can't says I see a difference in using cat5 or cat6 but when I was troubleshooting the on board nic I got the cable to rule that out.

I do a lot of torrent downloading and I connecting to work via a VPN and I can see a real difference in performance with gigabit speed.

Doesn't everything for home now (at least in the 3 or 4 years) come with gigabit support?
__________________
"The basic tool for the manipulation of reality is the manipulation of words. If you can control the meaning of words, you can control the people who must use the words." -Philip K. Dick
Reply With Quote
  #4   (View Single Post)  
Old 19th January 2015
IdOp's Avatar
IdOp IdOp is offline
Too dumb for a smartphone
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: twisting on the daemon's fork(2)
Posts: 756
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by roddierod View Post
Doesn't everything for home now (at least in the 3 or 4 years) come with gigabit support?
Well, of course I don't know for sure, tending to look at mostly the cheapest stuff, which is less likely to do gigabit. But yes, I'd expect that for any $TYPE_OF_DEVICE it will be available with gigabit. But unless that speed is critical for the use, it will also still be widely available without it. So the question is, how much has the long term, and now affordable, availability of gigabit translated into actual use? (And nearby questions, like why, and will it be very different in a few years?)
Reply With Quote
  #5   (View Single Post)  
Old 20th January 2015
Oko's Avatar
Oko Oko is offline
Rc.conf Instructor
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Kosovo, Serbia
Posts: 1,099
Default

I have no idea where you guys live but here 10 miles north of down-town Pittsburgh I have Armstrong cable which is suppose to be 15 Mbps advertised download speed and God knows what upload speed. I am constantly monitoring downloading speed and the best is in the morning about 10 Mbps. In the evening speed is anywhere 1-3 Mbps mostly bellow 2 Mbps. I called customer service couple times but it is pointless as those people do not have clue what I am talking about. They point me to some bullshit websites full of flash to convince me that my speed is 15 Mbps. Due to the lack of competition there is no alternative. I live in high income area. I could just imagine how things look in the rest of the country.
Reply With Quote
  #6   (View Single Post)  
Old 20th January 2015
roddierod's Avatar
roddierod roddierod is offline
Real Name: Rod Person
VPN Cryptographer
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Pittsburgh, Pa
Posts: 407
Default

I live 6 miles south of Pittsburgh, Small world! I assume you are around Cranberry area which is pretty new as towns go. I have the options of FIOS and Comcast cable. I currently use Comcast and using methods - I believe that were posted on this board I am getting the advertised download speeds.

@IdOp
As for the use question, I think when more people move away from cable tv and streaming more and more the use will increase. I don't have cable tv and have a Roku device but it only has 100M port, pretty sure that if it did my live streaming soccer channel would look as good as it did on Directv.
__________________
"The basic tool for the manipulation of reality is the manipulation of words. If you can control the meaning of words, you can control the people who must use the words." -Philip K. Dick
Reply With Quote
  #7   (View Single Post)  
Old 20th January 2015
IdOp's Avatar
IdOp IdOp is offline
Too dumb for a smartphone
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: twisting on the daemon's fork(2)
Posts: 756
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by roddierod View Post
I think when more people move away from cable tv and streaming more and more the use will increase.
Agreed for sure. It seems in these parts the cable cord-cutters are now more than 5%. Of course, cord-cutting isn't necessary to consume bandwidth, a netflix subscription will do that and I suspect there are many times 5% with those kind of subscriptions (most still with conventional tv too).
Reply With Quote
  #8   (View Single Post)  
Old 20th January 2015
rocket357's Avatar
rocket357 rocket357 is offline
Real Name: Jonathon
Wannabe OpenBSD porter
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 429
Default

My core switch at home is a Cisco 2948 that operates at 10/100. I'd upgrade to, say, a 2960 or 3750, but I can't justify the cost (mainly with the wife, but I'm having a hard time denying the "overpricy-ness" of Cisco equipment). Even with everything running full blast (wife playing games/streaming twitch/etc... kids watching Netflix, etc... and me, well, doing what I do) the bottleneck is still the internet connection and not the switch. I should mention that all Windows machines on my network are on their own /30 vlan, so none of them can talk to each other. Cuts down quite a bit on the chattiness of the network. Even still, the main trunk to the firewall has bottleneck'd a time or two (large internal transfers between vlans + lots of internet traffic), so when I moved up north and rebuilt the firewall, I built it with an active-active LACP link between the switch and firewall. I haven't had any issues since.

I have a few smaller side switches that are gigabit (nothing that really *needs it*), but given my 50 Mbps home internet connection I'm not in a huge hurry to upgrade. Once I get FiOS that may change, but for now I can't justify the cost.
__________________
Linux/Network-Security Engineer by Profession. OpenBSD user by choice.

Last edited by rocket357; 11th April 2015 at 06:30 PM. Reason: typo: 2600 != 2960
Reply With Quote
  #9   (View Single Post)  
Old 10th April 2015
aht0 aht0 is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 16
Default

I am using gigabit links at home. Considered even running multiple cables and trying Link Aggregation. Eyeing 10Gbit/s adapters now instead
Reply With Quote
Old 11th April 2015
bsd-keith bsd-keith is offline
Real Name: Keith
Open Source Software user
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Surrey/Hants Border, England
Posts: 136
Default

Not sure if I have any, didn't specifically buy them if I have, only occassionally use cat5 (mainly crossover) between machines, so wouldn't really benefit from them.
__________________
Linux since 1999, & now an OpenBSD user.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Soekris 5501-70: what to do with hifn & PCI ethernet raindog308 OpenBSD General 2 15th December 2014 06:48 AM
Ethernet UP clobbers PPP IdOp NetBSD General 1 9th March 2009 05:03 PM
broadcom ethernet jaideep_jdof NetBSD General 0 16th November 2008 05:33 PM
Realtek Gigabit 8169SC Network card not workies!! ashleyd FreeBSD General 5 11th August 2008 12:50 PM
Installing software without Ethernet Card welkin FreeBSD Ports and Packages 2 27th July 2008 12:12 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content copyright © 2007-2010, the authors
Daemon image copyright ©1988, Marshall Kirk McKusick