DaemonForums  

Go Back   DaemonForums > Miscellaneous > General software and network

General software and network General OS-independent software and network questions, X11, MTA, routing, etc.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1   (View Single Post)  
Old 27th June 2008
Cloud Cloud is offline
New User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 9
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Changing resolution

Another quick question here how do you change the resolution in xfce4? I already correctly configured my monitor in xorg and it's capable of 1280x1024 but when I go into display settings in xfce the only option is 800x600.
Thanks cloud
Reply With Quote
  #2   (View Single Post)  
Old 27th June 2008
ninjatux's Avatar
ninjatux ninjatux is offline
Real Name: Baqir Majlisi
Spam Deminer
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Antarctica
Posts: 293
Thanked 15 Times in 15 Posts
Default

You need to set your default setting in your xorg.conf. I never adjusted the resolution via Xfce.
__________________
"UNIX is basically a simple operating system, but you have to be a genius to understand the simplicity."
MacBook Pro (Darwin 9), iMac (Darwin 9), iPod Touch (Darwin 9), Dell Optiplex GX620 (FreeBSD 7.1-STABLE)
Reply With Quote
  #3   (View Single Post)  
Old 27th June 2008
adamk adamk is offline
Spam Deminer
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 250
Thanked 5 Times in 8 Posts
Default

The xfce4 desktop resolution program simply uses 'xrandr' to query the server for supported resolutions.

Some newer drivers can query the monitor to determine what resolutions are supported but older ones need to be configured manually in your xorg.conf file. If you attach your /etc/X11/xorg.conf and /var/log/Xorg.0.log files to a post here, we might be able to point you in the right direction.

Adam
Reply With Quote
  #4   (View Single Post)  
Old 27th June 2008
Cloud Cloud is offline
New User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 9
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

thanks for the responses guys and yes I set the default resolution in my xorg.conf unfortunately I have to do a re installation so I'll post back if I get the same problem again.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Resolution problem.. PCBSD3000 FreeBSD General 5 13th April 2009 07:56 PM
Change consolle resolution unixbsd OpenBSD General 7 16th March 2009 01:08 PM
NetBIOS name resolution from FreeBSD? Bruco FreeBSD General 5 6th March 2009 05:09 PM
resolution too high!!! =| ? what? seadog109 Other BSD and UNIX/UNIX-like 19 18th October 2008 04:25 AM
FVWM/X11 Resolution Issue? m4rc OpenBSD General 8 3rd July 2008 02:45 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content copyright © 2007-2010, the authors
Daemon image copyright ©1988, Marshall Kirk McKusick