DaemonForums  

Go Back   DaemonForums > OpenBSD > OpenBSD Packages and Ports

OpenBSD Packages and Ports Installation and upgrading of packages and ports on OpenBSD.

#1   (View Single Post)  
Old 20th November 2022
Banned

Default ExpressVPN, Lastpass and a secure browser

Hi all,

I'm an OpenBSD noob who last played with command lines in the mid 1990s when I was a spotty teenager modifying Doom II maps. I've just managed after a lot of effort to get OpenBSD 7.2 installed on a 10 year old HP Probook 6470B and am keen to use it to go about updating the passwords on all my online accounts knowing I'm protected by the most secure OS available..

Notwithstanding OpenBSD's stout in built security I think I need to secure my internet connection. I use a dual router configured in a LAN-WAN configuration to bolster security (inner router connected to internet facing outer router per this great guide by Michael Horowitz here

[1 - VPN Client]

I'm currently subscribed to ExpressVPN which I've found pretty solid over the last 4 years, so I figure I might as well continue using this, unless someone else has a better suggestion?. If I do continue with ExpressVPN, how do I get this setup on a fresh OpenBSD install? I've read about it briefly in the officlal guide here but I've heard bad things about the security of IKEV2 or L2TP, and it says nothing about OpenVPN which AFAIK would be the only option for me in sticking with ExpressVPN. Above all, remember I'm new to this OS and doing anything in the command line is slow and error prone, so ideally I just download an ExpressVPN port and just get it working out of the box... Is there a port? I certainly couldn't find one on the ports pages linked below..

[2 - Password Manager]