DaemonForums  

Go Back   DaemonForums > OpenBSD > OpenBSD General

OpenBSD General Other questions regarding OpenBSD which do not fit in any of the categories below.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1   (View Single Post)  
Old 5th December 2023
d31n1 d31n1 is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 14
Default I have to do sh /etc/netstart every other minute

I recently installed openbsd again on the ThinkPad x220 that I bought from ebay. It needed iwn firmware which I after some troubles managed to get installed and everything was fine and dandy. Or so I thought. The wifi works fine for a couple of minutes (some times longer, some times less), then it just stops working and I have to do sh /etc/netstart to get it working again.
My /etc/hostname.iwn0:
nwid ESSID wpakey PASSWORD
inet autoconf

Does anybody know what's going on? Anybody have similar issues?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2   (View Single Post)  
Old 5th December 2023
jggimi's Avatar
jggimi jggimi is offline
More noise than signal
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 7,989
Default

Welcome back!


If this were me, I would inspect dmesg(8) output, and review /var/log/messages, to see if there are any kernel messages produced when the problem occurs. If that isn't enough to provide some insight, I recommend posting your dmesg(8).


I used to have an X220, which I'd acquired used and refurbished. Over the next 10 or 12 years I installed several different types of WiFi NIC in it; their longevity wasn't ideal.
Reply With Quote
  #3   (View Single Post)  
Old 6th December 2023
bsd-keith bsd-keith is offline
Real Name: Keith
Open Source Software user
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Surrey/Hants Border, England
Posts: 347
Default

I too, would suspect the wifi card in some way or another being the cause...

Check that it is seated & that the antenna wires are attached firmly, clean the terminals....
__________________
Linux since 1999, & also a BSD user.
Reply With Quote
  #4   (View Single Post)  
Old 6th December 2023
shep shep is offline
Real Name: Scott
Arp Constable
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Dry and Dusty
Posts: 1,508
Default

My intel 7625 card using the iwm(4) driver has been stable and reliable in my HP Stream 14.
Reply With Quote
  #5   (View Single Post)  
Old 6th December 2023
d31n1 d31n1 is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 14
Default

dmesg:
Code:
OpenBSD 7.4 (GENERIC.MP) #0: Sun Oct 22 12:13:42 MDT 2023
    root@syspatch-74-amd64.openbsd.org:/...ile/GENERIC.MP
real mem = 8451125248 (8059MB)
avail mem = 8175267840 (7796MB)
random: good seed from bootblocks
mpath0 at root
scsibus0 at mpath0: 256 targets
mainbus0 at root
bios0 at mainbus0: SMBIOS rev. 2.6 @ 0xdae9c000 (68 entries)
bios0: vendor LENOVO version "8DET61WW (1.31 )" date 04/25/2012
bios0: LENOVO 4291JN7
acpi0 at bios0: ACPI 4.0
acpi0: sleep states S0 S3 S4 S5
acpi0: tables DSDT FACP SLIC SSDT SSDT SSDT HPET APIC MCFG ECDT ASF! TCPA SSDT SSDT DMAR UEFI UEFI UEFI
acpi0: wakeup devices LID_(S3) SLPB(S3) IGBE(S4) EXP4(S4) EXP7(S4) EHC1(S3) EHC2(S3) HDEF(S4)
acpitimer0 at acpi0: 3579545 Hz, 24 bits
acpihpet0 at acpi0: 14318179 Hz
acpimadt0 at acpi0 addr 0xfee00000: PC-AT compat
cpu0 at mainbus0: apid 0 (boot processor)
cpu0: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-2520M CPU @ 2.50GHz, 2491.95 MHz, 06-2a-07, patch 0000002f
cpu0: FPU,VME,DE,PSE,TSC,MSR,PAE,MCE,CX8,APIC,SEP,MTRR,PGE,MCA,CMOV,PAT,PSE36,CFLUSH,DS,ACPI,MMX,FXSR,SSE,SSE2,SS,HTT,TM,PBE,SSE3,PCLMUL,DTES64,MWAIT,DS-CPL,VMX,SMX,EST,TM2,SSSE3,CX16,xTPR,PDCM,PCID,SSE4.1,SSE4.2,x2APIC,POPCNT,DEADLINE,AES,XSAVE,AVX,NXE,RDTSCP,LONG,LAHF,PERF,ITSC,MD_CLEAR,IBRS,IBPB,STIBP,L1DF,SSBD,SENSOR,ARAT,XSAVEOPT,MELTDOWN
cpu0: 32KB 64b/line 8-way D-cache, 32KB 64b/line 8-way I-cache, 256KB 64b/line 8-way L2 cache, 3MB 64b/line 12-way L3 cache
cpu0: smt 0, core 0, package 0
mtrr: Pentium Pro MTRR support, 10 var ranges, 88 fixed ranges
cpu0: apic clock running at 99MHz
cpu0: mwait min=64, max=64, C-substates=0.2.1.1.2, IBE
cpu1 at mainbus0: apid 1 (application processor)
cpu1: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-2520M CPU @ 2.50GHz, 2491.93 MHz, 06-2a-07, patch 0000002f
cpu1: FPU,VME,DE,PSE,TSC,MSR,PAE,MCE,CX8,APIC,SEP,MTRR,PGE,MCA,CMOV,PAT,PSE36,CFLUSH,DS,ACPI,MMX,FXSR,SSE,SSE2,SS,HTT,TM,PBE,SSE3,PCLMUL,DTES64,MWAIT,DS-CPL,VMX,SMX,EST,TM2,SSSE3,CX16,xTPR,PDCM,PCID,SSE4.1,SSE4.2,x2APIC,POPCNT,DEADLINE,AES,XSAVE,AVX,NXE,RDTSCP,LONG,LAHF,PERF,ITSC,MD_CLEAR,IBRS,IBPB,STIBP,L1DF,SSBD,SENSOR,ARAT,XSAVEOPT,MELTDOWN
cpu1: 32KB 64b/line 8-way D-cache, 32KB 64b/line 8-way I-cache, 256KB 64b/line 8-way L2 cache, 3MB 64b/line 12-way L3 cache
cpu1: smt 1, core 0, package 0
cpu2 at mainbus0: apid 2 (application processor)
cpu2: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-2520M CPU @ 2.50GHz, 2491.96 MHz, 06-2a-07, patch 0000002f
cpu2: FPU,VME,DE,PSE,TSC,MSR,PAE,MCE,CX8,APIC,SEP,MTRR,PGE,MCA,CMOV,PAT,PSE36,CFLUSH,DS,ACPI,MMX,FXSR,SSE,SSE2,SS,HTT,TM,PBE,SSE3,PCLMUL,DTES64,MWAIT,DS-CPL,VMX,SMX,EST,TM2,SSSE3,CX16,xTPR,PDCM,PCID,SSE4.1,SSE4.2,x2APIC,POPCNT,DEADLINE,AES,XSAVE,AVX,NXE,RDTSCP,LONG,LAHF,PERF,ITSC,MD_CLEAR,IBRS,IBPB,STIBP,L1DF,SSBD,SENSOR,ARAT,XSAVEOPT,MELTDOWN
cpu2: 32KB 64b/line 8-way D-cache, 32KB 64b/line 8-way I-cache, 256KB 64b/line 8-way L2 cache, 3MB 64b/line 12-way L3 cache
cpu2: smt 0, core 1, package 0
cpu3 at mainbus0: apid 3 (application processor)
cpu3: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-2520M CPU @ 2.50GHz, 2491.99 MHz, 06-2a-07, patch 0000002f
cpu3: FPU,VME,DE,PSE,TSC,MSR,PAE,MCE,CX8,APIC,SEP,MTRR,PGE,MCA,CMOV,PAT,PSE36,CFLUSH,DS,ACPI,MMX,FXSR,SSE,SSE2,SS,HTT,TM,PBE,SSE3,PCLMUL,DTES64,MWAIT,DS-CPL,VMX,SMX,EST,TM2,SSSE3,CX16,xTPR,PDCM,PCID,SSE4.1,SSE4.2,x2APIC,POPCNT,DEADLINE,AES,XSAVE,AVX,NXE,RDTSCP,LONG,LAHF,PERF,ITSC,MD_CLEAR,IBRS,IBPB,STIBP,L1DF,SSBD,SENSOR,ARAT,XSAVEOPT,MELTDOWN
cpu3: 32KB 64b/line 8-way D-cache, 32KB 64b/line 8-way I-cache, 256KB 64b/line 8-way L2 cache, 3MB 64b/line 12-way L3 cache
cpu3: smt 1, core 1, package 0
ioapic0 at mainbus0: apid 2 pa 0xfec00000, version 20, 24 pins
acpimcfg0 at acpi0
acpimcfg0: addr 0xf8000000, bus 0-63
acpiec0 at acpi0
acpiprt0 at acpi0: bus 0 (PCI0)
acpiprt1 at acpi0: bus -1 (PEG_)
acpiprt2 at acpi0: bus 2 (EXP1)
acpiprt3 at acpi0: bus 3 (EXP2)
acpiprt4 at acpi0: bus 5 (EXP4)
acpiprt5 at acpi0: bus 13 (EXP5)
acpiprt6 at acpi0: bus -1 (EXP7)
acpibtn0 at acpi0: LID_(wakeup)
acpibtn1 at acpi0: SLPB(wakeup)
acpipci0 at acpi0 PCI0: 0x00000000 0x00000011 0x00000001
acpicmos0 at acpi0
tpm0 at acpi0 TPM_ 1.2 (TIS) addr 0xfed40000/0x5000, device 0x0000104a rev 0x4e
acpibat0 at acpi0: BAT0 model "42T4865" serial  8619 type LION oem "LGC"
acpiac0 at acpi0: AC unit online
acpithinkpad0 at acpi0: version 1.0
"PNP0C14" at acpi0 not configured
"PNP0C14" at acpi0 not configured
acpicpu0 at acpi0: C3(350@104 io@0x415), C1(1000@1 halt), PSS
acpicpu1 at acpi0: C3(350@104 io@0x415), C1(1000@1 halt), PSS
acpicpu2 at acpi0: C3(350@104 io@0x415), C1(1000@1 halt), PSS
acpicpu3 at acpi0: C3(350@104 io@0x415), C1(1000@1 halt), PSS
acpipwrres0 at acpi0: PUBS, resource for EHC1, EHC2
acpitz0 at acpi0: critical temperature is 99 degC
acpidock0 at acpi0: GDCK not docked (0)
acpivideo0 at acpi0: VID_
acpivout0 at acpivideo0: LCD0
acpivideo1 at acpi0: VID_
cpu0: using VERW MDS workaround (except on vmm entry)
cpu0: Enhanced SpeedStep 2491 MHz: speeds: 2501, 2500, 2200, 2000, 1800, 1600, 1400, 1200, 1000, 800 MHz
pci0 at mainbus0 bus 0
pchb0 at pci0 dev 0 function 0 "Intel Core 2G Host" rev 0x09
inteldrm0 at pci0 dev 2 function 0 "Intel HD Graphics 3000" rev 0x09
drm0 at inteldrm0
inteldrm0: msi, SANDYBRIDGE, gen 6
"Intel 6 Series MEI" rev 0x04 at pci0 dev 22 function 0 not configured
puc0 at pci0 dev 22 function 3 "Intel 6 Series KT" rev 0x04: ports: 16 com
com4 at puc0 port 0 apic 2 int 19: ns16550a, 16 byte fifo
com4: probed fifo depth: 0 bytes
em0 at pci0 dev 25 function 0 "Intel 82579LM" rev 0x04: msi, address f0:de:f1:fe:3a:e5
ehci0 at pci0 dev 26 function 0 "Intel 6 Series USB" rev 0x04: apic 2 int 16
usb0 at ehci0: USB revision 2.0
uhub0 at usb0 configuration 1 interface 0 "Intel EHCI root hub" rev 2.00/1.00 addr 1
azalia0 at pci0 dev 27 function 0 "Intel 6 Series HD Audio" rev 0x04: msi
azalia0: codecs: Conexant CX20590, Intel/0x2805, using Conexant CX20590
audio0 at azalia0
ppb0 at pci0 dev 28 function 0 "Intel 6 Series PCIE" rev 0xb4: msi
pci1 at ppb0 bus 2
ppb1 at pci0 dev 28 function 1 "Intel 6 Series PCIE" rev 0xb4: msi
pci2 at ppb1 bus 3
iwn0 at pci2 dev 0 function 0 "Intel Centrino Advanced-N 6205" rev 0x34: msi, MIMO 2T2R, MoW, address 8c:70:5a:88:70:4c
ppb2 at pci0 dev 28 function 3 "Intel 6 Series PCIE" rev 0xb4: msi
pci3 at ppb2 bus 5
ppb3 at pci0 dev 28 function 4 "Intel 6 Series PCIE" rev 0xb4: msi
pci4 at ppb3 bus 13
sdhc0 at pci4 dev 0 function 0 "Ricoh 5U823 SD/MMC" rev 0x04: apic 2 int 16
sdhc0: SDHC 3.00, 50 MHz base clock
sdmmc0 at sdhc0: 4-bit, sd high-speed, mmc high-speed, dma
ehci1 at pci0 dev 29 function 0 "Intel 6 Series USB" rev 0x04: apic 2 int 23
usb1 at ehci1: USB revision 2.0
uhub1 at usb1 configuration 1 interface 0 "Intel EHCI root hub" rev 2.00/1.00 addr 1
pcib0 at pci0 dev 31 function 0 "Intel QM67 LPC" rev 0x04
ahci0 at pci0 dev 31 function 2 "Intel 6 Series AHCI" rev 0x04: msi, AHCI 1.3
ahci0: port 0: 3.0Gb/s
scsibus1 at ahci0: 32 targets
sd0 at scsibus1 targ 0 lun 0: <ATA, HITACHI HTS72323, EC2Z> naa.5000cca6d4d67fff
sd0: 305245MB, 512 bytes/sector, 625142448 sectors
ichiic0 at pci0 dev 31 function 3 "Intel 6 Series SMBus" rev 0x04: apic 2 int 18
iic0 at ichiic0
spdmem0 at iic0 addr 0x50: 4GB DDR3 SDRAM PC3-10600 SO-DIMM
spdmem1 at iic0 addr 0x51: 4GB DDR3 SDRAM PC3-10600 SO-DIMM
isa0 at pcib0
isadma0 at isa0
pckbc0 at isa0 port 0x60/5 irq 1 irq 12
pckbd0 at pckbc0 (kbd slot)
wskbd0 at pckbd0: console keyboard
pms0 at pckbc0 (aux slot)
wsmouse0 at pms0 mux 0
wsmouse1 at pms0 mux 0
pms0: Synaptics clickpad, firmware 8.1, 0x1e2b1 0x940300 0x194b40 0xd002a3 0x123800
pcppi0 at isa0 port 0x61
spkr0 at pcppi0
aps0 at isa0 port 0x1600/31
vmm0 at mainbus0: VMX/EPT
uhub2 at uhub0 port 1 configuration 1 interface 0 "Intel Rate Matching Hub" rev 2.00/0.00 addr 2
ugen0 at uhub2 port 3 "UPEK Biometric Coprocessor" rev 1.01/0.02 addr 3
ugen1 at uhub2 port 4 "Broadcom Corp Broadcom Bluetooth Device" rev 2.00/7.48 addr 4
uvideo0 at uhub2 port 6 configuration 1 interface 0 "Chicony Electronics Co., Ltd. Integrated Camera" rev 2.00/8.54 addr 5
video0 at uvideo0
uhub3 at uhub1 port 1 configuration 1 interface 0 "Intel Rate Matching Hub" rev 2.00/0.00 addr 2
umodem0 at uhub3 port 4 configuration 1 interface 1 "Lenovo F5521gw" rev 2.00/0.00 addr 3
umodem0: data interface 2, has CM over data, has break
umodem0: status change notification available
ucom0 at umodem0: usb1.1.00004.2
umodem1 at uhub3 port 4 configuration 1 interface 3 "Lenovo F5521gw" rev 2.00/0.00 addr 3
umodem1: data interface 4, has CM over data, has break
umodem1: status change notification available
ucom1 at umodem1: usb1.1.00004.4
umodem2 at uhub3 port 4 configuration 1 interface 9 "Lenovo F5521gw" rev 2.00/0.00 addr 3
umodem2: data interface 10, has CM over data, has break
umodem2: status change notification available
ucom2 at umodem2: usb1.1.00004.10
ugen2 at uhub3 port 4 configuration 1 "Lenovo F5521gw" rev 2.00/0.00 addr 3
vscsi0 at root
scsibus2 at vscsi0: 256 targets
softraid0 at root
scsibus3 at softraid0: 256 targets
root on sd0a (bd5110d588f1a2b8.a) swap on sd0b dump on sd0b
WARNING: / was not properly unmounted
inteldrm0: 1366x768, 32bpp
wsdisplay0 at inteldrm0 mux 1: console (std, vt100 emulation), using wskbd0
wsdisplay0: screen 1-5 added (std, vt100 emulation)

Last edited by ocicat; 6th December 2023 at 10:33 PM. Reason: Please use [code] & [/code] tags to bracket command output.
Reply With Quote
  #6   (View Single Post)  
Old 6th December 2023
d31n1 d31n1 is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 14
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bsd-keith View Post
I too, would suspect the wifi card in some way or another being the cause...

Check that it is seated & that the antenna wires are attached firmly, clean the terminals....
Everything works perfectly on the same machine when I had Slackware Linux installed on it. Pretty sure it is an OpenBSD issue, not a hardware issue
Reply With Quote
  #7   (View Single Post)  
Old 6th December 2023
d31n1 d31n1 is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 14
Default

I seem to have resolved the issue.
I just added multicast=YES in my /etc/rc.conf.local
I have no idea what that does, but it seems to work now. I'll come back to this thread if the problem comes back, but for now it seems to have done the trick.

EDIT: Didn't work. The problem is back only it works a bit longer now before I have to do sh /etc/netstart

Last edited by d31n1; 6th December 2023 at 09:32 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8   (View Single Post)  
Old 6th December 2023
jggimi's Avatar
jggimi jggimi is offline
More noise than signal
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 7,989
Default

At the time of network failure, what does `# ifconfig iwn0` show? Any difference with normal output?

You might enable debugging with ifconfig(8), which may show something of value during a failure.
Reply With Quote
  #9   (View Single Post)  
Old 7th December 2023
d31n1 d31n1 is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 14
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jggimi View Post
At the time of network failure, what does `# ifconfig iwn0` show? Any difference with normal output?

You might enable debugging with ifconfig(8), which may show something of value during a failure.
There seems to be no difference. Also, it seems like I don't lose connection per se, it's just not responding.

Here is ifconfig iwn0 output:
Code:
iwn0: flags=a48843<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST,AUTOCONF6TEMP,AUTOCONF6,AUTOCONF4> mtu 1472
	lladdr 8c:70:5a:88:70:4c
	index 2 priority 4 llprio 3
	groups: wlan egress
	media: IEEE802.11 autoselect (HT-MCS7 mode 11n)
	status: active
	ieee80211: join Straums chan 11 bssid 28:28:5d:09:cb:b1 -51dBm wpakey wpaprotos wpa2 wpaakms psk wpaciphers ccmp wpagroupcipher ccmp
	inet6 fe80::8e70:5aff:fe88:704c%iwn0 prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x2
	inet 10.0.0.40 netmask 0xffffff00 broadcast 10.0.0.255
	inet6 2001:4655:2095:0:c57e:1a32:c3d5:c01d prefixlen 64 autoconf temporary pltime 1182 vltime 1182
	inet6 2001:4655:2095:0:b5ee:7aa8:dee9:8657 prefixlen 64 autoconf pltime 1182 vltime 1182

Last edited by ocicat; 7th December 2023 at 03:00 PM. Reason: Added code tags for clarity.
Reply With Quote
Old 7th December 2023
jggimi's Avatar
jggimi jggimi is offline
More noise than signal
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 7,989
Default

Debug might show something. If you'd like to report a possible bug, capture debug output during a failure and report it along with your dmesg(8). The lead developer for the NIC, Stefan Sperling (stsp@), may ask you to capture beacon traffic with tcpdump(8), as he did with this informal problem report a user sent to misc@ last year:


https://marc.info/?t=165501528000001&r=1&w=2
Reply With Quote
Old 7th December 2023
d31n1 d31n1 is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 14
Default

I found this in /var/log/messages:
Dec 7 21:18:14 OpenBaSeD ntpd[74895]: DNS lookup tempfail

could this be related?
Reply With Quote
Old 7th December 2023
jggimi's Avatar
jggimi jggimi is offline
More noise than signal
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 7,989
Default

Without more information, I'd call that merely a secondary effect caused by your primary networking problem. Your OS cannot resolve a domain name to an IP address if it cannot reach its nameserver(s).
Reply With Quote
Old 8th December 2023
Head_on_a_Stick's Avatar
Head_on_a_Stick Head_on_a_Stick is offline
Real Name: Matthew
Bitchy Nerd Elitist
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: London
Posts: 467
Default

I did a search for "intel 6205 drops signal " and I found https://community.intel.com/t5/Wirel.../393148#M10526, which claims dropouts under Windows were fixed by forcing the 5GHz channel, achieved by setting the card to 802.11a.

So try this in /etc/hostname.iwn0:
Code:
options mode 11a
I don't have an OpenBSD system handy atm so that syntax might be wrong, hopefully the more expert members here can correct me if needed.
Reply With Quote
Old 8th December 2023
shep shep is offline
Real Name: Scott
Arp Constable
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Dry and Dusty
Posts: 1,508
Default

Apparently, there is a hawdware kill switch on the Left side of the x220:
https://www.justus.pw/posts/2023-04-...list-bios.html
Quote:
I double check that the hardware switch on the left side of the X220 is in its On position. Running sudo rfkill list (a tool that can be installed with apt) gives me the following:

0: tpacpi_bluetooth_sw: Bluetooth
Soft blocked: no
Hard blocked: no
1: phy0: Wireless LAN
Soft blocked: no
Hard blocked: no
2: hci0: Bluetooth
Soft blocked: no
Hard blocked: no
It may be worth while to check the switch function for continuity. Given it's eBay origin, it could have taken a bath in someone's spilled coffee or the copper has oxidized.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
. /etc/netstart pppoe0 start fails in 5.8 doesn't seem to work mamalos OpenBSD General 4 8th January 2016 08:45 AM
netstart equivalent .. pkg_add error daemonfowl NetBSD General 15 17th February 2012 05:48 AM
Xorg, no mouse for a minute after reboot and startx xmorg FreeBSD Ports and Packages 1 24th November 2011 04:06 AM
Netstart / Required Reboots on Interface Changes dylanz OpenBSD General 0 17th June 2010 05:48 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content copyright © 2007-2010, the authors
Daemon image copyright ©1988, Marshall Kirk McKusick