DaemonForums  

Go Back   DaemonForums > OpenBSD > OpenBSD Security

OpenBSD Security Functionally paranoid!

#1   (View Single Post)  
Old 4th February 2021
Port Guard

Question help with openbsd 6.8 and ipsec site to site connection

Hi all,

Fair warning Total newbie to ipsec here!
I would like to establish a connection to a client of ours that has a ipsec server. This would be a site to site connection.
They sent me the data regarding the ipsec settings:
Address:
A.B.C.D
PSK: SECRET!!!
DPD 5
DPD 20
PH1:
AES256-SHA256
AES256-SHA1
DH Group: 5 14
Key Lifetime: x
PH2:
AES256-SHA256
AES256-SHA1
DH Group: 5 14
Key Liftime: y

I searched the net for an ipsec specific site to site connection but im a bit stumped now.
I found a post here on demonforums:
http://daemonforums.org/showthread.p...ighlight=ipsec
used the following manuals:
https://community.broadcom.com/syman...brarydocuments
(no keys only psk so partial)
https://man.openbsd.org/ipsec.conf.5#CRYPTO_TRANSFORMS
https://www.openbsd.org/faq/faq17.html#site2site (Connecting to an IKEv1/L2TP VPN part.. should i use site-to-site? don't have keys only psk)
If anyone can provide a more recent description i would very much appreciate it
as far as i could tell:

AES256-SHA256 = hmac-sha2-256
AES256-SHA1 = aes-256
DH Group: 5 14 = modp2048 (or modp1536)

I’m not sure about the above at all!!!! so maybe this is the problem?

ipsec.conf on client:
-----------
ike esp transport from egress to A.B.C.D \
main auth "hmac-sha2-256" enc "aes-256" group modp2048 \
quick auth "hmac-sha2-256" enc "aes-256" group modp2048 \
psk "SECRET!!!"
-----------
# ipsecctl -f /etc/ipsec.conf
----not installed for reasons....-------
# pkg_add xl2tpd
Can't find xl2tpd
-----------

# ipsecctl -vnf /etc/ipsec.conf
C set [Phase 1]:A.B.C.D=peer-A.B.C.D force
C set [peer-A.B.C.D]:Phase=1 force
C set [peer-A.B.C.D]:Address=A.B.C.D force
C set [peer-A.B.C.D]:Authentication=SECRET!!! force
C set [peer-A.B.C.D]:Configuration=phase1-peer-A.B.C.D force