DaemonForums  

Go Back   DaemonForums > OpenBSD > OpenBSD Installation and Upgrading

OpenBSD Installation and Upgrading Installing and upgrading OpenBSD.

#1   (View Single Post)  
Old 2nd March 2014
New User

Smile Hi! Old man noob here

Hi and thank you for letting me join this forum!

I hope you can tolerate a noob - I'll be honest - I'm completely new to unix varients but who said you can't teach an old dog new tricks?!

My questions are probably very silly but I've come stuck with my learning of this awesome operating system

I've been reading so many FAQs and so many man pages and tutorials now I decided to join here and see if anyone can give me a shove start

I just need to know the commands to access and view the CD-ROM drive.

I know about LS and mount but nothing I've tried has worked. I tried
mount cd0
mount /dev/cd0/

Ive tried all sorts but I can't seem to mount and access the DVD-rom drive!

I know the LS commands and have tried searching everywhere but can't find it I bought the OpenBSD 3CD set. So what I wanted to do was have a look what packages are on it because I still havn't got the internet working.

I know about LYNX but when I install openbsd I tried using DCHP to configure internet access but it hasn't worked

My next try will be to use ifconfig and to do it manually but Ive never done it before so I may be back here asking questions.

I hope you don't mind a noob being here as I'm very happy to join a forum and learning this new operating system!
  #2   (View Single Post)  
Old 3rd March 2014
More noise than signal

Hello, and welcome!

Your post appears to have been started in the wrong subforum, as you mentioned OpenBSD and this is a FreeBSD subforum. I'm sure one of the admins will move it shortly.
Quote:
I've been reading so many FAQs and so many man pages and tutorials