DaemonForums  

Go Back   DaemonForums > Other Operating Systems > Other BSD and UNIX/UNIX-like

Other BSD and UNIX/UNIX-like Any other flavour of BSD or UNIX that does not have a section of its own.

#1   (View Single Post)  
Old 28th January 2023
Shell Scout

Default /dev/sd disk blockdevices randomly ordered at every boot

I've been using Devuan 2 for 4 years and it consistently detected my drives as this:
/dev/sda: primary SSD where the system resides
/dev/sdb: secondary SSD where i back up the system with rsync regularly
/dev/sdc: secondary HDD where i back up the data with rsync regularly
/dev/sdd: primary HDD where the data resides
This order was constant, it never changed. This is the same order as the disks are plugged into the motherboard. Clean, obvious, logical. Working.

A few days ago i've upgraded to Devuan 4 and now the order is entirely random. At every boot.
I tried to check how can i set up a persistent order, but all i found is how to write fstab entries by disk id; but this is not a partition problem, it is a disk blockdevice detecting order problem, it cannot be solved from fstab.

Any tips on this?
  #2   (View Single Post)  
Old 29th January 2023
Open Source Software user

Drives get labelled as they get found by the O/S on boot up, normally, you use labels or UUID in fstab to mount them at certain points on the filesystem - I don't think it is possible to make them be found in a specific order.
  #3   (View Single Post)  
Old 29th January 2023
Bitchy Nerd Elitist

Quote:
Originally Posted by TCH View Post
I tried to check how can i set up a persistent order, but all i found is how to write fstab entries by disk id; but this is not a partition problem, it is a disk blockdevice detecting order problem, it cannot be solved from fstab.
It is not a "problem" at all. It is the expected behaviour, as bsd-keith notes.