DaemonForums  

Go Back   DaemonForums > FreeBSD > FreeBSD General

FreeBSD General Other questions regarding FreeBSD which do not fit in any of the categories below.

#1   (View Single Post)  
Old 4th May 2009
Lisp Junkie

Default msk(4) Driver

Although I am relatively new to BSDs, in general, and have been sinking my teeth into OpenBSD, I want to try out FreeBSD; I just want to get acquainted with the ways different BSDs handle.

The one question I have, with FreeBSD, is with concerns to the msk driver for Yukon-branded network cards: my laptop, which I will be trying FreeBSD out on, has a Yukon 2-FE (88E8040..?) LAN card, which is supported by OpenBSD's msk driver, but FreeBSD's does not support it. I have installed FreeBSD 7.1, but the card just simply isn't supported.

In that OpenBSD's msk driver supports it, and FreeBSD's doesn't, are there any steps I could take to using OpenBSD's msk driver in FreeBSD, or at least getting my network card working in FreeBSD?
  #2   (View Single Post)  
Old 4th May 2009
Banned

You cannot use OpenBSD drivers in FreeBSD, this would require a considerable amount of porting.. they aren't the same operating system.

Support for Yukon-2 FE+ devices was added near the end of 4.5 development, if FreeBSD is going to support them.. it probably won't be until the next release.

EDIT: FreeBSD 7.2 was just released.. you might find yourself lucky.

Last edited by BSDfan666; 4th May 2009 at 03:08 PM.
  #3   (View Single Post)  
Old 4th May 2009
Lisp Junkie

Thank you for your response, BSDfan666! I had a strong suspicion that an OpenBSD driver would not pan out in FreeBSD, and your response solidified that suspicion.