DaemonForums  

Go Back   DaemonForums > FreeBSD > FreeBSD General

FreeBSD General Other questions regarding FreeBSD which do not fit in any of the categories below.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1   (View Single Post)  
Old 30th December 2009
mrthomas mrthomas is offline
New User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 7
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Freebsd router PPP/PPPoE connection problem

I have a thomson adsl router set in half bridge mode. When I installed pfsense onto a spare machine with 2 nics it worked a treat and my wan ip was assigned to one of the nics and it worked perfect.
So I was thinking of ditching the pfsense box to cut down on pc's running and configure my freebsd server which has dual nics to do the same.
I tried the docs here freebsd.org/doc/en/books/handbook/pppoe.html thinking I was on the right track but they didnt work.


Code:
Dec 30 17:36:15 ww ppp[82070]: tun0: Phase: deflink: Connect time: 5 secs: 0 octets in, 0 octets out
Dec 30 17:36:15 ww ppp[82070]: tun0: Phase: deflink: 20 packets in, 18 packets out
Dec 30 17:36:15 ww ppp[82070]: tun0: Phase:  total 0 bytes/sec, peak 0 bytes/sec on Wed Dec 30 17:36:10 2009
Dec 30 17:36:15 ww ppp[82070]: tun0: Phase: deflink: hangup -> opening
Dec 30 17:36:15 ww ppp[82070]: tun0: Phase: deflink: Enter pause (30) for redialing.
Dec 30 17:36:45 wwppp[82070]: tun0: Phase: deflink: Connected!
Dec 30 17:36:45 ww ppp[82070]: tun0: Phase: deflink: opening -> dial
So how was pfsense able to connect ? any pointers welcome
Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2   (View Single Post)  
Old 30th December 2009
J65nko J65nko is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Budel - the Netherlands
Posts: 3,193
Thanked 182 Times in 149 Posts
Default

Cannot you check the pfsense box configuration?
__________________
You don't need to be a genius to debug a pf.conf firewall ruleset, you just need the guts to run tcpdump
Reply With Quote
  #3   (View Single Post)  
Old 30th December 2009
mrthomas mrthomas is offline
New User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 7
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by J65nko View Post
Cannot you check the pfsense box configuration?
I dont have the box up and running any more gone back to a normal router. My mate just mailed me his ppp.conf from his pfsense box and its the default one.
Pfsense seems to have a load of rc. files it runs and I cant make much sense of them to be honest.
Never mind will try google again

seems like mpt may be the way ahead

Last edited by mrthomas; 30th December 2009 at 09:39 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4   (View Single Post)  
Old 30th December 2009
J65nko J65nko is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Budel - the Netherlands
Posts: 3,193
Thanked 182 Times in 149 Posts
Default

You can try the step by step interactive approach described in the excellent ppp(8) man page and http://renaud.waldura.com/doc/freebsd/pppoe/

If you recently changed the password keep the following in mind.

Remember that ppp passes things through sh. If you password or username contains characters with special meaning for the shell like quotes, redirection symbols etc, you should escape them properly . See sh(1) starting at the Lexical Structure up to the Aliases section.

I don't remember exactly but when I had either a '~' or a "\"in my password, I could dial in with my modem under Win95, but not under FBSD 3.4 using ppp.

Code:
$ echo vice$president   
vice
$ echo "vice$president" 
vice
$ echo "vice\$president" 
vice$president
Or if you have a password like "vice\$president" only the last variation will really get your password unharmed through the shell
Code:
$ echo "vice\\$president" 
vice\
$ echo "vice\\\$president" 
vice\$president
__________________
You don't need to be a genius to debug a pf.conf firewall ruleset, you just need the guts to run tcpdump
Reply With Quote
  #5   (View Single Post)  
Old 1st January 2010
sniper007's Avatar
sniper007 sniper007 is offline
Real Name: Jurif
Fdisk Soldier
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Slovenia
Posts: 50
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I prefer MPD5 for PPPoE
__________________
If anything can go wrong, it will. If it can't, it will anyway
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ppp.conf, pppoe

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MySQL / Dovecot connection problem DrKrall FreeBSD Ports and Packages 2 12th July 2009 06:40 PM
pppoe internet connection on another lladdr enaqx General software and network 3 4th July 2009 12:07 AM
Problem with PORTSNAP and my router cedcot FreeBSD Ports and Packages 2 22nd April 2009 11:32 AM
PPPoE -> ADSL Router (Bridge) - Slow connect? DraconianTimes OpenBSD General 0 31st December 2008 01:07 PM
Modem PPPoE vs OpenBSD PPPoE ryoken OpenBSD Security 13 15th June 2008 10:07 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content copyright © 2007-2010, the authors
Daemon image copyright ©1988, Marshall Kirk McKusick